AMD Radeon HD 6750M 512 MB question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Blooo, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. Blooo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    #1
    Ok, so i am looking to play swtor on my iMac through bootcamp and after a few days searching i have found that people are running the new assassins creed batman arkham city and crisis 2 on the same basic 2001 iMac that i have and it looks good so i should be able to run swtor right?

    the only problem is some people are saying they they are using an AMD Radeon HD 6750M 512 MB plus shared memory (total VRAM = 2281 MB).

    i can't find anywhere that says i have the shared memory (total VRAM = 2281 MB). does that mean i don't have it or does it just not tell you?

    if this is the wrong place and would be better in the pc/mac games section could a mod move it to there instead save me posting two posts

    thank you.
     
  2. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #2
    I have no idea why people would talk about 2281MB VRAM, but this is not important anyway. Forget the shared memory, it does not play any role or difference. If you want to get more technical, ANY GPU uses shared memory because the textures and stuff are usually cached in the system RAM as well. Your 2011 iMac should do ok running SWOTR, just don't expect stellar performance at ultra settings.
     
  3. Blooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    #3
    You reckon i could run it on medium settings?
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    I am rather sure you could run even it on high settings, just don't turn AA on.
     
  5. Blooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    #5
    thats awesome news. I didn't think i could as on the swtor website people are having really low Frame rates with this game even on low when using bootcamp. The majority of them are using MBP's though.
     
  6. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #6
    At this point I should probably tell you that I didn't try it out and I also don't own a 6750M :) My posts were just projections from benchmarks I know about and some general guessing.

    I would guess that the people who complain try to play it with a 13" MBP (no dedicated GPU).
     
  7. tnewson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Should be fine, mine is running Skyrim on medium - high settings (no AA) at 1280x720 and its getting around 45fps in the towns and 60fps in the dungeons n ****.. so should be cool
     
  8. Blooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    #8
    does your mac have the same spec as mine?


    mid 2011 iMac
    2.5ghz intel core i5
    4gb 1333 mhz ddr3
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M 512 MB
     
  9. corbyone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #9
    I have the same question, will the 21.5 imac play SWTOR on med-high well... I see a lot of talk about macbook pros with the same video cards but not the imac. My concern is the macbook pro has 1gb of vram while the imac only has 512gb, is that cause for concern? Or is the difference rather slight? I haven;t made an imac purchase yet but I'm hoping to do so in the coming days so any info will help.
     
  10. Blooo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
  11. corbyone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #11
    x2
     
  12. tnewson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Yep same spec as yours my friend. I mean you will have to have a little fiddle to see what suits the game best.. like try low settings on 1920x1080 and see how it runs when you up the settings. Can always try dropping the resolution too if you need to. Im quite impressed with the games my base model imac has run. With a little of tweaking i was running crysis on medium settings with around 35fps.

    Lovely stuff
     

Share This Page