AMD Radeon HD 7800

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Obioban, Apr 3, 2016.

  1. Obioban macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #1
    I have an AMD Radeon HD 7800 I got for free (friend upgraded his gaming PC). If I get a cMP, can it be used reasonably integratedly?

    TIA!
     
  2. Obioban thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  4. Obioban thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #4
    Unknown.

    When I went to "Control Panel->Device Manager->Display Adapters" on his PC it said "AMD Radeon 7800 HD". Beyond that, I have no info on what the card is.

    It has a Mini DisplayPort output, if that's a meaningful datapoint.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 4, 2016 ---
    And, in case it's useful, looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    --- Post Merged, Apr 4, 2016 ---
    Not my computer, don't judge me:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #5
    Look up the device ID, e.g. with GPU-Z.

    It should work in OS X in any case, since all HD 7800 are supported. It depends on the exact model if it can be properly flashed for boot screens though.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  7. Obioban thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #7
    Any chance you know if there's a windows version of that screen? Don't have the Mac Pro yet, still hunting one down...
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    GPU-Z as Flor!an said, that's a free software in Windows.
     
  9. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  10. Obioban thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #10
    Oops, missed that!

    So it is! GPU-Z agrees.

    So, is there an Apple flash I can flash onto it to get the boot screen to work or am I stuck with functionality once booted only?

    Also, semi related-- once I have it flashed as a mac card, can I still use it (without a performance penalty) in boot camp?
     
  11. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #11
    If it's a reference HD 7850 (2x mDP, 1x DVI, 1x HDMI) you should be able to get boot screen on DVI. mDP ports will only give boot screen through passive adapters, no native DP connections. OS X should be displayed on all ports.
    In any other case you'll most likely lose some ports in OS X and boot screens may or may not work on some ports.
     
  12. Obioban, Apr 4, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016

    Obioban thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    #12
    It does have 2x mDP, 1x DVI, 1x HDMI, so I guess it's a "reference HD 7850"...?

    Sorry to be so noob, but what does that mean exactly? And... how good/terrible is this card?

    My screen, at least until 5k becomes reasonably priced and reliable, is a 27" LED cinema display (which connects through mDP)-- will that be able to show the boot screen?

    Can I put a mac flash on this card to make it legit, or am I stuck with semi support?

    Sorry for all the basic questions, I just don't know how to find them otherwise! Thanks again!
    --- Post Merged, Apr 4, 2016 ---
    Also (assuming I can't get a boot screen out of this one)... is there any reason I couldn't leave the card that comes with the computer in a different slot and, if I need access to the recover partition/similar, plug the display into that? Wouldn't be that much effort for how infrequently I'd need to do it.
     
  13. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #13
    No, you won't see a boot screen through a native DP connection with this card (=> not on your Cinema Display), so there's no benefit of flashing it.

    The card was a midrange card some years ago. Today it's good enough for desktop use and some mild gaming.
     

Share This Page