Amount of RAM needed for Adobe CS3?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fridgeymonster3, Jan 30, 2008.

1. fridgeymonster3 macrumors 6502

fridgeymonster3

I'm a web designer that mainly uses Adobe Flash, Dreamweaver, and Photoshop. I also use After Effects, priemere pro and illustrator on occasion. I just bought the new 2.8 octo with the stock ram (2x1 gb). How much RAM should I have to get the best performance for Adobe CS3? Price also is an important consideration so i was going to go with OWC - i just didnt know what to order

2. digitalnicotine macrumors 65816

digitalnicotine

Unless you are running those programs at the same time, or using rather large sized files or HD video, the 2 gig should suffice. I'm a firm believer that you can never have too much ram on a 64 bit workstation, but where economy is a factor, you will get by with what you have unless you do what I mentioned above, where you would likely experience sluggishness.

If you do use a lot of large files, and/or operate these programs at the same time, a boost to 4gigs would be money well spent. I'm not sure if you need to stick with the ECC ram, and I'm sure it's expensive! Good luck and congrats on awesome setup.

3. netnothing macrumors 68040

netnothing

You will want to get Mac Pro RAM with the large heatsinks, like what OWC sells.

Get as much RAM as you can afford. For your case another 4GB (2x2GB) would be good to bring you to 6GB.

You can let Photoshop alone use 3GB of RAM (I do). I don't think you can specify how much DW and Flash use, but let them take as much as they want!

I'm a web developer and frequently have all those apps open, as well as Mail, BBEdit, iTunes, FTP, etc. I have 11GB of RAM, but that's just because of how/when I bought it.

I don't think you'll need over 6-8GB of RAM, unless you get into video/audio editing.

It's nice to not have to have your machine pageout to disk.

-Kevin

4. Reach macrumors 6502a