An Easy Method to add Gestures

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lavrishevo, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. lavrishevo, Apr 7, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2011

    lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    I used iPhone Explorer (free) to edit the file system. I also used Text Wrangler (free) to edit the .plist files

    First:

    Navigate to Root > var > mobile > Library > Preferences > com.apple.springboard.plist

    Copy it to you Mac, add the following line, and replace old file with new.

    <key>SBUseSystemGestures</key>
    <true/>

    Second:

    Navigate to Root > System > Library > CoreServices > SpringBoard.app > N90AP.plist

    Copy it to you Mac, add the following line, and replace old file with new.

    <key>multitasking-gestures</key>
    <true/>

    Third:

    Navigate to Root > Applications > Preferences.app > General.plist

    Copy it to you Mac and replace existing code with new. Old code is about 3/4 down in the file and replace old file with new.

    OLD CODE TO DELETE:

    <dict>
    <key>cell</key>
    <string>PSGroupCell</string>
    <key>footerCellClass</key>
    <string>MultitaskingGestureExplanationView</string>
    <key>id</key>
    <string>Mutltitasking_Gesture_Group</string>
    <key>requiredCapabilities</key>
    <array>
    <string>multitasking-gestures</string>
    </array>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>cell</key>
    <string>PSSwitchCell</string>
    <key>default</key>
    <true/>
    <key>defaults</key>
    <string>com.apple.springboard</string>
    <key>id</key>
    <string>Mutltitasking_Gesture_Switch</string>
    <key>key</key>
    <string>SBUseSystemGestures</string>
    <key>label</key>
    <string>Multitasking_Gestures</string>
    <key>requiredCapabilities</key>
    <array>
    <string>multitasking-gestures</string>
    </array>
    </dict>

    NEW CODE TO ADD IN ITS PLACE:

    <dict>
    <key>cell</key>
    <string>PSGroupCell</string>
    <key>footerCellClass</key>
    <string>MultitaskingGestureExplanationView</string>
    <key>requiredCapabilities</key>
    <array>
    <string>multitasking-gestures</string>
    </array>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>cell</key>
    <string>PSSwitchCell</string>
    <key>default</key>
    <true/>
    <key>defaults</key>
    <string>com.apple.springboard</string>
    <key>key</key>
    <string>SBUseSystemGestures</string>
    <key>label</key>
    <string>Multitasking Gestures</string>
    <key>requiredCapabilities</key>
    <array>
    <string>multitasking-gestures</string>
    </array>
    </dict>

    Respring or restart and now you will have gestures and the ability to turn them on and off in preferences.
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    A lot of the plist editing is easier to do in iFile using the property list editor. I tried it when on a tethered 4.3 JB but could never get the app switch (left or right 4 finger swipe) to work. It would only show the animation and switch to the same app I was already in.
     
  3. lavrishevo, Apr 7, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2011

    lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
    Seems like a lot more then it is. Only takes a couple of minuets. For some reason iFile on my phone or iPad will not save .plist files. This is why I used the other method.
     
  4. Alaerian Guest

    Alaerian

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    A barstool, Innis & Gunn in hand
    #4
    How is this easier? Seems much easier to me with Xcode.
     
  5. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
  6. lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    Not dealing with a 4.5 gb download and paying $5.00? I don't know if it is easier really nor am I claiming it is. Just saying it is easy and can be done very quickly. If your not comfortable editing .plist files then there are other methods as mentioned. All your doing is editing 3 files on the phone. Come on... ;)
     
  7. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #7
    That was my reason for not using XCode (I didn't want to download the iPhone SDK) This method took the same amount time to do that XCode takes to startup anyway.
     
  8. lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    Not dealing with a 4.5 gb download and paying $5.00? I don't know if it is easier really not am I claiming it is. Just saying it is easy and can be done very quickly. If your not comfortable editing .plist files then there are other methods as mentioned. All your doing is editing 3 files on the phone. Come on... Personally, gestures makes a lot more sense on the iPad compared to the iPhone as at least my 4 fingers takes up the whole screen. LOL but it is useful.
     
  9. johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #9
    this is awesome - thanks to OP
    will try this tomorrow when i have some free time
     
  10. tctony macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #10
    Not sure where in the .plists I'm supposed to put these?

    [Edit] P.s. Doing this screwed up all my FolderEnhancer folders.
     
  11. qckslvrsiete macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #11
    Does the xcode trick work for an iPhone 4 on 4.3 as well? I did it with my iPad, but my iPhone is JB on 4.2 w/bb .01.59 so I haven't upgraded it yet...
     
  12. lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #12
    Just be vigilant you don't delete the wrong section of code and always make backups of the originals in case you screw up. It works great on my iPad and iPhone. Just wish my iPad1 had some more ram.
     
  13. lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #13
    Step 1 you would add the value like below

    <key>SBUseHardwareSwitchAsOrientationLock</key>
    <false/>
    <key>SBUseSystemGestures</key>
    <true/>


    It does not have to be in that exact place but you can't break up the other code. Think of it as a parameter being set to true or false.

    Same concept on step 2.

    Step 3 is obvious.

    If something got screwed up its because you did not add it correctly. Be vigilant when you do this.
     
  14. Alaerian Guest

    Alaerian

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    A barstool, Innis & Gunn in hand
    #14
    Just to clear this up, you DO NOT have to pay for xcode. It is free to download from the developer website.
     
  15. fsck-y dingo, Apr 7, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2011

    fsck-y dingo macrumors 65816

    fsck-y dingo

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #15
    Wow that's great lavrishevo, thanks for posting! I know there's a tweak in Cydia to do this for the iPod Touch 4G but nothing yet for the iPhone.

    Edit - Just tried it and got it working. I did a respring the fist time and while the option appeared in Settings the gestures didn't work. I did a reboot and it's working fine.
     
  16. groovs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #16
    HI ...
    i cant open N90AP.plist and com.apple.springboard.plist ...... i am using plist editor pro ... i copy these files to my mac and then when i try to open them to edit plist pro gives an error ...


    Any ideas ?
     
  17. gonzalohigua macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #17
    well i did it quite well as MT Gestures creator explain in his last tweak update and now it works, have the option off on .. anyway .. the think is: is this useful?? honestly think is not (@iphone4)
     
  18. A420Turbo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    NY
    #18
    Cool tip

    For multitasking bar all four fingers dont have to be on the touch screen initially to work. ex: You can start the gesture by putting your pointer, middle and ring finger on the screen and your thumb can start next to the home button. As you swipe up all 4 fingers come in contact with the screen and you get your multitasking bar. Seems alot easier than trying to contort and cram all your fingers at once on the screen.
     
  19. drummr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    #19
    I've got my "slide in gesture" in activator set to open the multitasking bar when you "slide in" from the bottom left of the screen. A lot easier than these 4 finger gestures...
     
  20. A420Turbo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    NY
    #20
    I do agree that activator is alot easier of a way of going about it. Its just that sometimes (most of the time) my "slide in" gesture has a mind of its own and only activates when it wants to.

    For now I set the multitasking bar to the "slide down from status bar" (works everytime) but it seems weird to slide down and then MT bar slides up. Anybody got any ideas for a better gesture for the MT bar?

    Until then maybe we can hope for some additional gestures in activator maybe a 3 finger swipe up or maybe we'll see some of these soon :D
     

Share This Page