An iBook G4 in the modern day.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Tokeli, Aug 24, 2010.

1. Tokeli macrumors newbie

Well! I'm trying to find out how well the iBook G4 (1.33ghz) fares in the world of 2010. I'm a student and mostly-new to Macs, and really want an iBook just as a secondary laptop to use for class and such. My budget's only around $200 though, not including an inevitable new battery, so I'm sort of afraid of getting a dud, falling-apart one.

BUT, getting off track.

For the people who have iBooks right now. How do they hold up? With YouTube and stuff, simple games like WoW, and watching movies and writing reports and the like, just general stuff?

2. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

MacHamster68

its a tricky question , you are never really safe from getting something used which develops a problem , but as the ibooks had some problems through the range but dont let that put you off
    mine died not long ago
    it looked perfect had a new battery and was even polished !! brandnew keyboard ,so had not a single sign of use when i bought it a couple month ago
    so i thought i had a little gem but sadly it developed the exploding logicboard

a mate has his one since 2005 ( a 1.33)and it looks like it was driven over by a car several times and thrown out of a window in the 10th floor , but works flawless since he bought it

and for youtube and other things flash , it can "manage ''up to 360p
    everything else including photoshop for example (not the latest of course as thats intel only) is working perfect and not more power needed really

3. CTrav86 macrumors member

I dunno about the iBook, but I'm still running a PowerBook G4. It's quite beat up, has scratches, a couple dents, the case bending by the DVD drive... but it still works!