An iMac or go back to Windows?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sdavis891, Jun 1, 2013.

1. sdavis891 macrumors newbie

I am a 3rd year University student looking to purchase a new Mac. I've had a 13" MacBook Pro since before I started university (mid 2009 model 5,5) and it's performed in every way I've needed it too. I upgraded the harddrive and the RAM. Unfortunately, the SSD I bought awhile back has encountered an invalid node and the Genius Bar said that eventually it'd come back.
    On a side note, with the lack of interest in console gaming, and new consoles coming out next christmas, I would like to go back to computer gaming. I not at all interested in getting another macbook, because most of my classes don't allow computers while the professor is lecturing and I live so close to campus that I don't bother bringing it with me anywhere.
    I've been seriously considering an iMac 27", with the upgraded graphics card, ram, and processor. (I'm talking about the high end one). But I want to consult those of you who have experience in this field.
    I had bootcamp on my MacBook, I was comfortable with that but with how old the model was, it could not perform on new generation games. I'd like something that will last few years to come, as so I would not have to fork out more money for another system.

I absolutely adore the OS, I have a hard time working in Windows because of how long its been, plus my program I am taking in school is graphic arts/printing industry related so all the computers in our building are iMacs.
    I do plan on waiting until mid August to purchase, as well as I'd save some money with the university/college sale.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

2. B... macrumors 68000

B...

Sounds like you want the Mac OS, and therefore an iMac. Whatever you do, wait until the end of the summer for the back to school promo and mabye even new computers.

3. sdavis891 thread starter macrumors newbie