Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SVTmaniac

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 30, 2013
Please don't make this an Android vs iOS thread. I have been using my iPhone 5s for about 4 months now. Before that I was a die hard Android guy. So far I have been happy with the switch, but there is just one feature that is either missing or I can't find so maybe you can all help.

On my Android phones, there was a WiFi option in the advanced settings that allowed the phone to automatically switch the WiFi connection off if either the signal was too weak or there was no response from the internet.

On iOS i'm finding that when I walk out of my house and I'm working in the yard or my garage, my WiFi signal is strong enough to connect but not really strong enough to deliver a stable connection to my phone so I won't get any iMessages unless I turn WiFi off. Also if I go places with free WiFi but make you agree to terms before getting a connection and I forget to open my browser to agree to them, then I'm also missing any iMessages that come in until I realize it or turn WiFi off. Another scenario is if the internet at my house dies, the iPhone remains connected to my WiFi router, but all my iMessage, emails and Facebook notifications won't come in until I realize the internet died.

On my Android phones, in all three instances they would automatically have switched the phone over to the cellular connection for me and I wouldn't have had any interruptions in my data connection. I wish iOS had this feature or if it does I wish I knew how to turn it on.

Any help?

Small White Car

macrumors G4
Aug 29, 2006
Washington DC
No feature like that, but here's the advice I'd give.