Android on Iphone ??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by CrAzyXBo11, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. CrAzyXBo11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #1
    Is it possible in the near future or virtually impossible, just running it on an iphone would be OMG amazing??...

    What r your thoughts??

    Doesn't it look so appealing =]..... (something i put together)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #2
    Sorry, but no.

    It is possible that one day, there may be an emulator, but honestly, why bother?

    If you're not happy with your iPhone, and you want a G1, just buy one. If you're happy with your iPhone, there you go.
     
  3. CrAzyXBo11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #3
    i meen, i love my iphone 3g but i just thought it would be amazing running android on it, since the android OS looks so cool but the G1 just looks disgusting...

    i cant see why not though....
     
  4. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #4
    yeah seriously like why can't i install vista on my powermac g5????

    i mean, they're both computers
     
  5. CrAzyXBo11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #5
    the funny thing is you can install vista w/ boot camp...i wish we could have double boot w/ iphone os and android os lolz...
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    The reason Vista can't run on a G5 is principally because there's no PPC codebase for Vista, and it's a huge OS, and porting it would be an insane undertaking.

    The situation is slightly different on Android... Android was designed from the ground up, AFAIK, to be portable across different phone hardware. This makes a big difference in itself -- remember, Windows Mobile has been made to run on iPhone hardware.

    Also AFAIK, the iPhone processor is in the range of things the Android code is supposed to support. Finally, Android has source code available, which is an advantage the WM hack did not even have.

    It's probably much more realistic that this hack could be made to happen. Not saying it will, but it's worlds easier than your example of Vista running natively on a G5.
     
  7. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #7
    exactly, why can't you? you can actually
     
  8. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #8
    the funny thing is.. no you cannot. you cannot run vista on a powerpc processor without emulation, which boot camp does NOT do


    just to clarify, my previous comment was EXTREMELY sarcastic
    you guys have NO sense of humor
     
  9. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #9
    Android currently doesn't have a software keyboard, so how would you type?
     
  10. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Hahaha, no.

    See up two posts. Bootcamp and Win32 compatibility only came about when Apple switched from PPC to x86 CPU architecture. You learn something new everyday. Glad I could be today's.

    It also doesn't support the front facing camera or the second speaker!!!! :eek:
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Android may not have a software keyboard, but as it is open source, someone who really wanted to port it could, in principal, create a basic keyboard (or port an existing one) in order to get it functioning at a basic level.

    It looks like Google will also release their own code for one next year.

    Not that I have any real interest in running Android on my iPhone.
     
  12. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #12

    If people actually wanted to downgrade their iPhones, they would have figured how to install RIM's OS on the iPhone by now.:rolleyes:
     
  13. CrAzyXBo11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #13
    i meen if the developers just really wanted to....we could port a android os to the iphone but it would take a lot of brain power but i believe the end result would just be amazing....if i was a developer i would start something to make that possible but im not =[.....
     
  14. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #14
    What part about android do you believe is better than apples?
     
  15. CrAzyXBo11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #15
    Im not saying their are better, im just saying that the interface and the features are different and it would be nice to be able to experience that without having a totally different phone....i love apple but it seems as though android and win mobile have something to offer that is a little different than the iphone OS.
     
  16. gadgetdad macrumors 6502a

    gadgetdad

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    On my iPhone
    #16
    Nothing alittle jailbreaking couldnt cure...
     
  17. CrAzyXBo11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
  18. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #18
    Show me Vista, via Bootcamp, on a G5. I'll bet you can't. ;)
     
  19. TheConfuzed1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    #19
    @ CrAzyXBo11--

    That's a nice theme. What is it? Also, would you mind sending me the wallpaper in a PM? :D
     
  20. ALUOp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #20
    I also like to see Android running on iPhone.
    This way we may be able to have A2DP and other features that Apple doesn't want to implement (yet).
    But as you all know there is no software unlock for 3G yet, so if it is difficult to unlock 3G, it will be even more difficult to have Android to run on 3G and at the same time be able to use the baseband.
    And don't forget the 3D chip in iPhone. How much work does it require to modify Android to use the 3D chip? Or is it even possible without Imagination's cooperation?
     
  21. CrAzyXBo11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #21

    Hey the theme im using is iGloss theme, i got it on www.macthemes2.net and my wallpaper i got from www.alliphonewallpapers.com
     
  22. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #22
    I sold my White iPhone 3G for $400 on October 22nd, drove down to North Ridge and bought me a T-Mobile G1. The $400 covered the cost of the new phone, activation, and AT&T's early termination fee. I feel that this is the best decision I have ever made regarding cell phones.
     
  23. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #23
    thinking about the same thing. It'd be even more economic since I'm already on t-mobile :eek: and I should qualify for an upgrade. I could probably get $300 for my iPhone...

    The only thing is I love the Mac syncing and hate sliders. Maybe if they replace the Dash with a similar form factor android I'll be set.
     
  24. markgamber macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Redneck, PA
    #24
    Yep, I'm very likely to do the same monday. The iPhone is ok but since July I've come to absolutely despise AT&T. If I have to have a phone that has no Slingplayer, Orb, streaming Sirius or anything else I find useful, I may as well have it on a carrier that isn't run by people who wake up every morning thinking of ways to f**k over their own customers.
     
  25. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #25
    You know what's awesome? I got the 300 MyFaves plan, which gives me 300 any time minutes, unlimited nights and weekends, unlimited MyFaves (5 phone numbers you choose, regardless of the carrier), unlimited internet and unlimited messaging (SMS and MMS) for $75/mo.

    I am saving $20/mo on T-Mobile AND I have a better plan with unlimited messaging instead of 1500.

    The service, I've noticed, is about the same as AT&T here in Bakersfield aside from the fact that there's no 3G... but believe it or not, T-Mobile's EDGE seems about as fast as AT&T 3G. And I have Wi-Fi, so whatev. :)
     

Share This Page