Android's dirty little secret

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Cod3rror, Dec 29, 2014.

  1. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #1
    Is its RAM management, which is absolutely atrocious!

    After you use Android for a while, it's not surprise that a 1GB iPhone can provide you with the same user experience and the same amount of application and tab reloads as an Android phone with 3GB RAM.

    You can be listening to music and if you use Chrome, Android will kill the music app! How bad is that? After you use Chrome for a while and go back to homescreen, you'll be greeted with a blank canvas... because Chrome forced the homescreen out of RAM and it has to reload.

    I won't even consider an Android flagship with RAM less than 4GB.
     
  2. Neverbepeace macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Any specific phone you encountered this situation with?
     
  3. Cod3rror thread starter macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #3
    Started with Motorola Moto G, then I got curious if it was just my model it was happening to, so I went to a shop and extensively tested the flagship phones, they all exhibit this behaviour.
     
  4. jamezr macrumors G3

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #4
    Hmmmmm i listen to music on my Note 4 for hours and have not had that happen to me. Sometimes even while using Chrome and still nothing like you described..What phone did you have this experience with?
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I can't say that I ran into the situation back when I owned an android device.

    I will say imo, that the best OS for memory management is the WP platform. I found that to be the best, but then my usage habits may not be typical.
     
  6. jamezr macrumors G3

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #6
    Have to agree. I think IOS and WP both manage memory better than Android does. But in all my years of using Android never have I had a blank home screen because of the memory management on a phone.
     
  7. Oletros macrumors 603

    Oletros

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Location:
    Premià de Mar
    #7

    This is not even wrong
     
  8. MisakixMikasa macrumors 6502a

    MisakixMikasa

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Location:
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
    #8
    In iPhone with 1GB of memoery, you will see app reload just as much as Android. I have have problem of music being cut out, but I do see home screen redrawing. Yes, that is quite annoying. But I have no complain for my sub 100 dollar Moto G. I however, never experienced home screen redrawing with Nexus 5 and Nexus 7.
     
  9. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #9
    I think it depends on the device. I always had top tiered Android devices, and the only problem that I had was battery life issues from devices like 4 years ago. The S3 used to be choppy at certain times, but never closed any apps.

    I definitely don't have any memory issues with my Note 4. And I multitask plenty.
     
  10. spinedoc77 macrumors G3

    spinedoc77

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #10
    Odd, I've never seen this issue. Android does have its issues though, but I don't think they are better or worse than iOS.

    What's the point of this thread anyway? Why the need to troll?
     
  11. Oohara macrumors 68020

    Oohara

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #11
    If stuff like this was a regular occurrence, Android phones simply would not sell. This sounds like an isolated event, and as such probably shouldn't be used as the basis for a general conclusion.

    Any device has its hiccups now and then. My iPhone 6 Plus spontaneously rebooted a few times when I'd been going back and forth between the YouTube app and a webpage with several YT links on it. I didn't see this as sufficient reason to start a thread proclaiming that I'd never buy an iPhone with less than 2 gb of ram in it, however.
     
  12. mrex macrumors 68020

    mrex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Location:
    europe
    #12

    What device?

    Never experienced what you just described... If you still have problem with your device, check from settings how your device handles background tasks...
     
  13. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #13
    Definitely a fact. This and iOS. 1GB is just fine on those two platforms.
     
  14. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Android's dirty little secret


    Whilst I have experienced home screen reloading on touchwiz devices to a lesser and greater extent. (Note 3 and alpha less so than stock S5 & S4)

    I have never experienced it on HTC's Sense 5 or 6 with 2gb ram devices (M7 or M8) and likewise neither on the Moto X 2013/14 either. My Galaxy S4 Google Play Edition also did not do this.

    The LG G-Pad did do this to me, and so too a Sony Xperia Z2.

    So yeah it does happen,but not in my experience on every device.


    As for music player stopping up, I do recall that ever happening to me.
     
  15. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #15
    I have seen 4.4.4/5.0 (Nexus 5/6) reload the home screen before. Google has made the system more strict with RAM usage than in past versions. Supposedly this is (partly) how 4.4/5.0 can run on devices with only 512MB RAM.
     
  16. bmxracer macrumors member

    bmxracer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #16
    I frequently use my moto g as you describe streaming spotify and using chrome and have never encountered a single issue.
     
  17. Vetvito macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #17

    Windows Phone is the absolute worst.

    Ever installed the beta lock screen app? Unlock the phone and the tiles would have to redraw.

    Play a game, and jump back to the start screen and the tiles would have to redraw.

    In internet Explorer, go back to the start screen and press the Internet Explorer tile and watch it "resuming....".

    Don't just take my personal word for it. Go to Windows Central and just read of the others with the exact same problems as me.

    I've experienced this on all windows phone devices I've owned. All of them.
     
  18. AlecZ macrumors 65816

    AlecZ

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #18
    I never quite understood how apps on Android worked. They're written in Java, but do they run in a JVM, or are they compiled? Because I know you can compile Java code to machine code in GCC. If they're running in a JVM, I wouldn't be surprised that they're hogging RAM or lagging.
     
  19. mi7chy macrumors 68040

    mi7chy

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    #19
    Sounds like FUD. On a 2GB DRAM Android device I can pause a movie in XBMC which is pretty heavy and switch between other apps, browser with multiple tabs then back to it without losing place in movie. In comparison, iPhone 6+ reloads with just two tabs.
     
  20. TimelessOne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    #20

    They do not run on JVM. Android 4.4 and down runs on the Davik VM. 4.4 has the option to run on the ART system and from 5.0 it requires to run on ART.
     
  21. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #21
    I've had up to 10 tabs open on chrome, use my phone like I normally would, come back a day or two later and nothing would have to reload.
     
  22. sunking101 macrumors 603

    sunking101

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    #22
    That's awesome. Which phone?
     
  23. JHUFrank macrumors 6502a

    JHUFrank

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #23
    I didn't have many issues with my GN2. However my HTCs and the GN3 had some pretty big memory issues. Flushing apps in memory was one of the first things one of my android geek friends taught me.
     
  24. skratch77 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #24
    My gs5 is on the latest build with an updated kernel from last week and will keep 8 active apps running!

    I have no reload issues at all
     

    Attached Files:

  25. vgamedude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    #25
    My note 3 did that.
     

Share This Page