Annoying Excel 2011 won't do inline autocomplete!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by InfoTime, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. InfoTime macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #1
    Here's something annoying about Excel 2011 on the Mac. The autocomplete feature offers the choices in a drop-down menu like this:
    [​IMG]
    To select the entry I have to arrow down then press Enter.

    Excel 2007 on Windows and Libre Office on the Mac does it this way:
    [​IMG]
    To select the entry you only have to hit Enter or Tab out of the cell.

    This latter way of doing it works much better. I've searched all through the Preferences for Excel 2011 and can't find anything where I can make it work the way I want. Is there a way?
     
  2. learnin' macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    #2
    excel 2011 not-auto-and-not-complete

    Did you resolve this? It drives me nuts, as well. It is a common feature for accurate and speedy data entry. It does seem like a rather important feature...
     
  3. InfoTime thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #3
    Gave up on looking for a solution. It ridiculous that Microsoft changed that. Libre Office (which is free and compatible) does it the correct way.
     
  4. OlsenPeterE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #4
    Fully agree. This is really annoying. I did submit a feedback suggestion to the MS Excel guys.
     
  5. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #5
    That looks more like a form of auto-correction than it does auto-completion. I would search Microsoft's knowledge base or "answers" community.

    One thread that may be of interest could be this one.
     
  6. jorgefilemon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
  7. Basilh72 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    Annoying Excel 2011 won't do inline autocomplete!

    I too am looking for an answer to this issue. Has anyone figured out how to fix this problem with MS Excel?
     

Share This Page