(Another) Backpack Advice... Please!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by karatekidk, Sep 1, 2010.

1. karatekidk macrumors regular

Hi All. I have simply been struggling to find a right backpack to carry my MBP 13". Here is my situation.

1. I have been using a NorthFace Daypack (Hot Shot) for the past four years or so paired up with a AppleSac sleeve for my laptop. I can actually carry fair amount of stuff and a large water bottle on the side of the pack. I, however, really dislike a lack of padding at the bottom. It makes me nervous everytime I settle my backpack on the ground of hard floor.

2. I bought a NorthFace Surge after reading good reviews. I didn't like it because it doesn't have enough room for all my stuff, so I returned it.

3. I just tried Level 8 Atlas pack. Descent, but I can only carry a very small water bottle.

I read many threads about backpack on this site and searched quite a bit on internet, but I haven't find my perfect backpack.

I'd appreciate your input.

2. Anician macrumors member

Maybe check out Crumpler bags? I recently bought 'The Considerable Embarrassment' to carry my MBP. I'm waiting until I start university before I use it, but from what I've seen it seems to be a pretty solid bag with good padding and compartments and whatnot.

http://www.crumplerbags.com/

3. karatekidk thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks. Seems like the website is under renovation? Would like to check back again sometime soon.

4. wywern209 macrumors 65832

wywern209

5. jb27 macrumors newbie

Tom Bihn Brain Bag with Brain Cell. Have one for my 15 MBP and I love it. The brain cell stays suspended in the backback so when you set it down hard, not even the brain cell his the ground.

6. karatekidk thread starter macrumors regular

Seems to be a good quality pack. Does it have enough storage to carry textbooks and notebooks in addition to a laptop? Also, can that mesh pocket hold a 30oz Nalgene bottle?

Thanks!

7. aaps59 macrumors regular