Another HTPC Question - What are my options?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kikuchiyo, Mar 21, 2009.

1. kikuchiyo macrumors member

So I am moving back to the U.S. in about three months and getting a new apartment there. In preparation I've been researching two big projects - one is furniture (I'm a law student and I need a calming, easy to use work space) and one is an HTPC. I've spent two weeks researching and I can't for the life of me figure out what to do.

Basically here's what I want from an HTPC.

1. DVD Playback (I am going to rip my DVDs and put them on a 1TB drive hooked up to an Airport extreme (or the machine itself).
    2. Emulators. I bought a ton of old games in Japan and I want to play them on whatever machine is hooked up to the TV.
    3. PVR - I will probably have cable (though I'm not sure - I may just go the Hulu/Bittorrent route) - but if I do, it will need to hook into my cable box.
    4. Attractive easy to use front end software. It needs too look good and be controllable with a remote (not necessarily the Apple one). Extra points for a front end that will also incorporate emulators.

And here are some things I would like but aren't 100% necessary:
    1. Region free - I have a ton of Japanese DVDs. While I have a hacked external DVD drive that will work in a pinch, a region free drive would be nice (not possible with the mac mini without eating my warranty).
    2. PC Games. If possible I'd like the option of playing Morrowind, Oblivion, and Fallout 3.
    3. Dual tuner cards - to record something and watching something else at the same time.
    4. Quiet with a small attractive case.
    5. Integration (as much as possible) with iTunes and iPhoto (which will both also be stored on the networked 1TB drive).