Another InDesign question: colouring greyscale tiffs

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by MacBoobsPro, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #1
    Im getting to grips with InDesign because I can no longer stand to work with Quark.

    However while learning InDesign I am hitting a few non major obstacles that are relatively easy to solve if you know how.

    Todays problem :rolleyes:

    In Quark I could import a bitmap or greyscale tiff and set its colour in Quark quite easily. In InDesign if I import a bitmap or greyscale tiff I can only change the colour of the background. How can I colour the actual tiff?

    To get around this problem I am having to vectorise the files (which include halftone effects) and its killing my system not to mention taking loads of time.
     
  2. jeremy h macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Go to the content arrow/tool (the hollow one below the top black one in the tool palette).

    Click on your graphic so it selects the content (as opposed to the box) - the bounding box should change colour.

    Select a different colour - swatches / colour palette etc
     
  3. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #3
    Ok now that is weird. :confused: I have been trying this for ages and it didnt seem to work. I was double clicking it and the bounding box changed colour but I couldnt change anything. I do it your way it works. I try it my way again and it now works. :confused:

    Strange... anyhoo thanks mate :)
     
  4. jeremy h macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I know what you mean... It drove me mad to start with.

    I have found though that compared to Quark, Indesign is a lot more precise or fiddly (according to your standpoint) with it's tools usage. It still feels to me a lot like illustrator...

    One more tip though - if you're playing with logos vectors and imported ai's etc - watch your overprints - I'm getting a lot of overprints creeping in on white out stuff since I upgraded to CS3. Run with overprint preview or check it a lot!
     
  5. MacBoobsPro thread starter macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #5
    New question of the day: Where is overprint view located?

    EDIT: Doesnt matter I found it. :D
     

Share This Page