Another iTunes 12.6 bug...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rexone, Apr 4, 2017.

  1. rexone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lake Weyba on the sub-tropical Sunshine Coast :)
    #1
    Have reported this to Apple but seriously frustrating.
    Previously if you imported a CD that was a compilation of various artists & it fragmented the tracks by artists it was easy to select all the tracks, get info & change the album artist details to 'Various Artists'.
    This would then bring all the tracks together into one album.
    Under iTunes 12.6 you cannot do this.
    Every single track has to be change individually.
    Every. Single. Track.
    I just imported a string of CDs with 200 tracks...
    Apple seriously borked some pretty basic parts of this update.
     
  2. GigaWarTrex macrumors newbie

    GigaWarTrex

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    I just encountered the same problem too! It's seriously frustrating, and a Mac AND Windows problem...
     
  3. rexone thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lake Weyba on the sub-tropical Sunshine Coast :)
    #3
    Yeah, driving me crackers.
    I had a lengthy conversation with Apple Tier 2 support about it late last week & he said they'll be looking at it.
    Don't hold your breath I guess...
     
  4. jk73 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #4
    Someone in another thread said that batch-edits of metadata will still work if done in the Songs display, but not in Albums, Artists, Recently Added, etc.

    Clearly appears to be a bug, but the above might help in the meantime.
     
  5. rexone thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lake Weyba on the sub-tropical Sunshine Coast :)
    #5
    Thanks but the problem with that way is it will then display each track as 'Various Artists' rather than the artists name.
    So yes, it will work to pull them all together but unless you have the artists details in 'Composer' all those name details will be lost.
     
  6. jk73 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #6
    No, maybe I wasn't clear enough. I'm not saying to put "Various Artists" in the "song name" section of the metadata. I'm saying that batch-editing apparently still works if you batch-edit while the songs are listed by songs (i.e., by going into the Songs window in the iTunes sidebar) rather than the Album view, or Recently Added view, etc.
     
  7. rexone thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lake Weyba on the sub-tropical Sunshine Coast :)
    #7
    Ah, okay.
    Yes, alright, I tried that & you are correct. It works. Total pain in the butt way to have to do things but it works.
    Kind of makes it more apparent that this is a bug.
    Cheers
     

Share This Page