Another Lens Purchase Advice Thread

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by rufhausen, Feb 25, 2011.

1. rufhausen macrumors regular

Current Equipment:
    • Nikon D90
    • Tokina 12-24mm AT-X 124 AF PRO DX
    • Nikon 15-105mm VR Kit lens
    • Nikon 50mm 1.8 D AF

I'm looking for something for shooting mostly wildlife and kids.

Examples:
    • Deer
    • Elk
    • Animals at the zoo
    • The occasional bird in a tree/nest
    • Not a lion or grizzly bear at 1000m
    • Kids at karate practice (indoors)
    • Kids playing football (outdoors - daylight)
    • Maybe some street photography where I can maintain some distance

Other important factors:
    I'm not a professional and don't expect to ever get paid for my photos unless I stumble across Bigfoot while on a hike.
    The nikon 70-200 2.8 or any other PRO Nikon lens is out of the question with the exception of maybe a used 80-200 2.8 based on what I can afford.

This all brings me to my initial conclusion that it's between the Nikon 70-300 VR 4.5-5.6 and the Sigma 70-200 2.8 HSM II Macro (non-OS version). Obviously the big differences between the two are:
    • Weight (the Sigma is much heaver)
    • Low light capability (2.8 on the Sigma)
    • Range (an extra 100mm on the Nikon. However, I can address this with a teleconverter for the Sigma down the road).
    • Price (probably $300 more for the Sigma).

For my intended use, I'd like to know from anyone who has an opinion (especially if you have one or both lenses or do a lot of the types of shooting I mention above) on which one makes the most sense.

Thanks.

2. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

Designer Dale

As far as wildlife/birding goes, 200 mm is not long enough. I have a Sigma 120-400 for this and it just makes the grade.

Dale

3. rufhausen thread starter macrumors regular