Another New Mac Buyer!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rjaye, Oct 11, 2008.

1. rjaye macrumors newbie

Hi guys... I'm also someone who is new to the Mac world, waiting for Tuesday to see what comes out... I'm currently using an HP desktop running XP...I love it, but I'm a college student and using a desktop for two years rather than a laptop has just become a pain. I need something NEW and convenient!

I've done plenty of research on Macs and they seem to be the right type of computer for me. (Though I still feel pangs of guilt for abandoning my desktop my parents so generously bought for me...and my dad hates Macs!)

All my friends with Macs gave a resounding "YES!" when I asked if I should buy a Macbook.

So, it seems to be the plan.
    BUT.
    I have one issue to resolve, one that my friends presented.
    They say that it is not uncommon for the hard drive to fail.
    Each one of them has said their hard drive just completely wiped out on them at least once.
    This worries me...I often keep rather important things on my computer, such as irreplaceable photos and art.
    I'd prefer to not have everything on my hd disappear on me one day.
    I do have an external, so that would help, but currently this is the one thing on my mind that would be keeping me from buying a Mac.

Anyone want to give any insight on this?
    Also...is buying extra RAM a must?

2. 204467 macrumors 6502a

If you keep regular backups, it shouldn't be a problem (especially if you download Carbon Copy Cloner (I think that's what it's called) that allows you to create bootable backups). Besides, who knows, maybe the new MB/MBP will be really secure in the HD. Anyway, you should only buy more ram if you do a lot of things. I have two gigs in my iMac, it works great. I recommend that amount. And given the update that will be happening on Tuesday, two gigs might be standard across the board now anyway.

3. Me1000 macrumors 68000

Me1000