another newbie question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Franny4321, Jan 1, 2012.

1. Franny4321 macrumors member

As I am still learning Mac, I just noticed that Macbook Pro does not seem to have a place for my sd card. How do you download picts from a camera? I have nikon d60. I certainly hope I have just missed something, for I may have to return the puter if I can't do my picts. Please help.

2. simsaladimbamba

What MBP do you have? The 13" and 15" MBP have an SD card slot since the 2009 models were released in June 2009. Or do you have the 11" MacBook Air?
    You could also just connect the camera with the SD card inside via a USB cable to your computer and use iPhoto to transfer them.

To edit your thread title to a descriptive one, just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the [​IMG] button below your message.

Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find similar threads:
    [​IMG]

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Like most laptops, you hook up a card reader using USB, or use the provided USB cable that comes with the camera and hook that camera up to the computer and copy the images over that way.

4. Franny4321 thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for the quick reply. My old HP laptop had a slot for sd cards. My camera does have a connection for usb. My Mac is 17 in. MacPro with 8megs, 4.2 whatever. I can't believe it does not have a slot. I bought this for photography since it is suppose to be better. I am so disappointed,

5. simsaladimbamba

If you would have researched the 17" MBP, you would have seen, that it does not have an SD card slot.
    http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/specs-compare.html

I also have a 17" MBP from 2009 and it also doesn't have an SD card slot, I either use an external memory card reader or just simply connect my two cameras via USB cable to the Mac and then use LightRoom to import my photographs.