Another newbie with NTFS drive situation

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by KTPrince, May 26, 2010.

  1. KTPrince macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    After a lifetime of owning PC's I finally purchased a MacBook Pro running OS X. I installed Parallels Desktop 5, Windows XP, and several Windows apps to have dual functionality.

    Now I need to write to my NTFS ext. hard drive where I backup everything. It has 800gb of space left, so it would be a shame to get a new one just b/c I have a Mac now.

    So...I first installed MacFuse and then NTFS-3G. Now when I reboot, the ext. HD won't mount at all. What have I done wrong?

    Please and thank you.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    You can format the external to HFS+ (Mac OS Extended (Journaled)) with Disk Utility to get the best compatibility with OS X
     
  3. KTPrince thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Won't that erase everything on the drive and then make the drive unable to have Windows files written to it?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
  5. KTPrince thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    Okay, I seem to have done it all correctly. NTFS3-G told me to re-unmount the drive using Windows safely remove hardware, but I can't do that because neither Windows nor Mac can see the drive.

    I'm wondering if this is a Parallels issue. Should I have installed MacFuse and NTSF3-G before Parallels, not after?

    OR, should I uninstall the separate MacFuse since the NTFS3-G comes with it?
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    I'd try uninstalling, then use the link that I posted to re-install.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Yes, but you can move the files temporarily to other drive. As you now have a Mac and I assume your main OS is OS X, it would be better to use HFS+, even just because of Time Machine. You can access HFS+ in Windows with e.g. HFSExplorer
     

Share This Page