Another Utility to enable TRIM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by flowrider, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #1
  2. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  3. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
  4. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #4
    If anyone is using SoftRAID 5 (softraid.com) with JBOD enclosures or in a multi-drive cMacPro, they now do a trim enable for SSDs as well.
     
  5. crjackson2134, Sep 24, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2014

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    That's been around for a while. I actually used that one first before buying Trim Enabler. Chameleon didn't work with Yosemite until this just released version. I may give it another look now that it has Yosemite support.

    I would like to see Cindori add the NOATIME setting in Trim Enabler.

    EDIT: Okay tried it out again. Works fine. I used it to turn on NOATIME. Still doesn't have option to notify on boot if Trim became disabled after software updates. I'll stick with Trim Enabler!
     
  6. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    https://digitaldj.net/blog/2011/11/17/trim-enabler-for-os-x-lion-mountain-lion-mavericks/
     
  7. Cindori, Sep 24, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2014

    Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    It's coming. And much more. I wish I could show what I'm working on. Pretty cool stuff. Stay tuned :D

    Most of these apps just copy paste the Terminal command in Draeconis post, which can easily lead to bricking your system. But don't take my word for it, try using SoftRAID or Transcends JetDrive Toolbox on OS X Yosemite and I'm willing to bet you will end up with a kernel panic on boot. I've done extensive testing and worked out methods for ensuring that users won't end up like that using Trim Enabler.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Good to know. Loving TE as it is, but love to see added features. Thanks for a great product.

    ----------

    I'm not really sure what the point of this link is. Are you supporting Trim Enabler or slinging mud at it?

    TE has been totally recodedd since this was originally posted and is absolutely safe and reliable. If Trim isn't working for you while using this tool, then I suggest it's more to do with the SSD rather than the application. It does nothing to compremise your OS or hardware. The state of 3dr party SSD use with OSX would be a big bag of HURT without TE & Chameleon.

    ----------

    And that's why I support your efforts. I have confidence in the reliability and enjoy the feature set, and timely updates.
     
  9. gochi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #9
    thanks but i didn't really notice significant jumps in performance when using trim enabler.
     
  10. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    You generally won't notice giant leaps unless you have used the SSD for a while and deleted many files on a regular basis, and/or when the SSD gets pretty full. At least that's my understanding. It's not meant in enhance native performance, but rather prevent performance degradation that's inhereant with SSD use.
     
  11. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #11

    Haha ... yeah, I simply noticed it "offered" to enable Trim when I did the last upgrade. However I ignored the offer, and used TrimEnabler as always. Thanks for your hard work and great product Cindori! :cool:
     
  12. gochi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #12
    hmm that makes sense. trimming ?
     

Share This Page