Antennagate revisited....changes in store for next iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ReallyBigFeet, Jan 3, 2011.

1. ReallyBigFeet macrumors 68030

ReallyBigFeet

I was looking through some Android forum posts (we've got both Androids and iPhones in the family, living together in sin if you will) and ran across this thread describing how the "death grip" issue actually helps IMPROVE signal reception in HTC EVO phones:

http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/115253-signal-attenuation.html#post1075741

I'm not a radio engineer so I can't comment on the facts this guy presents, but I will say that he presents them in a very convincing manner.

With all the wild speculation going on regarding new features in the "next" iPhone, I wonder if Apple will make any significant changes to the design of the thing. On the one hand, this would be damaging to the thousands of aftermarket case/accessory makers who have already tooled up for the iPhone 4. And historically, the 3G/3GS form didn't really change for the 2+ years of their existence.

But if the facts in that link are true, then Apple's choice of steel band and glass case would tend to indicate a really bad idea for a cell phone, industrial design criteria notwithstanding.

How would you feel if Apple 'dropped back' to a more 3G/3GS oriented design....glass front, plastic back and dropped the glass back/steel frame entirely?

Personally, since I case mine and always likely will, it wouldn't matter. Particularly if it improved the durability and/or reception capabilities of the phone.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I think its a slam dunk, that apple will alter the design of the phone, to mitigate the death grip problem. I don't think we'll see a brand new design, so the look and feel will be the same, but how they implement the antenna may change a bit.

I'm no engineer so I have no idea what they could do about it, but I think its a forgone conclusion that it will occur.