Anti-glare film/protector for 24" or 27" LED LCD

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by obelix, Sep 23, 2010.

1. obelix macrumors member

Hi all,

I'm a photographer and designer and I just can't stand the glare on the new LED LCD displays. I have a 30" cinema display, but it keeps flickering with my new MacBookPro. I've called Apple about it, but they can't offer any help since the 30" is out of warranty. I have a 24" LED LCD cinema display, but I can't stand the glare.

I'm wondering what anti-glare solutions are out there? I found this one... but perhaps there are better options.

http://www.photodon.com/mm5/merchan...ry_Code=AppleCinema&Product_Code=RJ1-3220-01K

2. obelix thread starter macrumors member

3. godrifle macrumors regular

godrifle

4. vincenz macrumors 601

vincenz

Yes, would appreciate a review and pics if possible :)

5. obelix thread starter macrumors member

RadTech ClearCal Display Matte/Film is terrible

I just tried the 24" matte screen film/protector from RadTech (http://www.radtech.us/Products/ClearCal-Displays.aspx). Basically I hate the gloss on the new cinema displays, and all I want is a matte display that works with my new MacBookPro as I've been having problems with my 30" cinema display.

The Radtech ClearCal protector comes with a nice box, everything is well packaged, and there is a lint-free cloth and some omnicleanz spray included. First impressions - good stuff.

I proceeded to spend 45 minutes meticulously cleaning my display, and then got down to the business of applying the film. On a 24" display this certainly isn't trivial as there is a lot of surface area to cover and I found it near impossible to stop tiny 2mm bubbles appearing. I did find that if I went really really really slowly and applied light pressure as I put down the cover I could minimize this. After taking 30 minutes to apply the matte and getting it almost perfect I turned the display on.

The result... AWEFUL.