Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacTeacherDude

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 29, 2006
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to this board and my apologizes if this has been addressed before.

I'm a computer teacher at an elementary school and we are a Mac campus. I have several G5 servers, including one running 10.4.6 that is used to host our home directories.

Our district recently purchased the Norton Corporate Edition (10.0) and requested that we install it on all of our client machines. My quandary is that the repeated infections which I see (mostly Macro related things) are located on my Docs server (primarily in my teacher's e-mail attachment folders).

The problem: After repeated tests on my part, I come to the conclusion that the Norton client install doesn't address infections when the corrupt file is hosted on another drive (or if the user is operating under a managed environment, which we are through Workgroup Manager).

My question: Even though I've been advised against doing so, would it be make sense to install Norton and run the Auto Protect feature on my Docs server? Several of my colleagues have recommended against this, b/c they believe it would pose a conflict with that way that OS X server operates.

Thanks in advance for any input than can be offered.

Brian

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
MacTeacherDude said:
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to this board and my apologizes if this has been addressed before.

I'm a computer teacher at an elementary school and we are a Mac campus. I have several G5 servers, including one running 10.4.6 that is used to host our home directories.

Our district recently purchased the Norton Corporate Edition (10.0) and requested that we install it on all of our client machines. My quandary is that the repeated infections which I see (mostly Macro related things) are located on my Docs server (primarily in my teacher's e-mail attachment folders).