Antivirus a good idea with Parallels?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Touringman, Sep 27, 2007.

  1. Touringman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #1
    I have just bought and installed Parallels as I need to run a few Windows only apps (Updater for Speed Camera Detector, Garmin GPS software and memory maps nav software.)

    Anyway back in my PC days I had a bad experience once with a virus and from then always had anti-virus software (and anti spyware, malware etc)

    Is this kind of protection required with Parallels? - or will OSX protect me (I will always be running XP in a Window only)

    Many thanks

    Tim
     
  2. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #2
    You will want virus protection on the windows part, that will still get viruses, they won't affect the rest of your computer though only the windows part.
     
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    of course. it is running windows which means viruses can be a problem. i reccomend avg
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    avast is good too. If you have a firewalled router or have turned on the firewall in OSX, you don't need one in Windows (unless you are using the OSX one and running bootcamp).
     
  5. ksmith80209 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #5
    I highly recommend ESET's NOD32. It is super fast, uses almost no resources, and is very effective (used to use it on my windows machine).
     
  6. thunderbolt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #6
    There is an option for installing Trend Micro at Parallels 3.0. I think its good for protection. Plus using some anti-spyware software like spybot would be better. I don't know if trend micro has anti-spyware support.

    Edit: It doesn't matter even you use it fullscreen. Windows is good old windows you know, crawling with viruses and spyware.
     
  7. ivi7 macrumors 6502a

    ivi7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #7
    Since your going to be using Windows you will have to be cautious and antivirus is a must. There are many options available but you can choose the one your comfortable with.
     
  8. Touringman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #8
    New Question

    Thanks for the responses - I have downloaded Avast - used to use this on Windows and seems to do the job.

    New Question :

    I was about to pay up and get an activation key but with back up CD this amounts to nearly £60 in the UK!

    The full retail boxed version is available with education licence for £33 or £40 for full licence on Amazon UK

    Anyone know if I buy the full retail version will I have to install again or can I just use the activation/licence key that is presumably in the box?

    - don't want to install again as I have just got XP up and running and re-installed the windows apps I need!

    Cheers

    Tim
     
  9. dvbeatty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #9
    parallels selling out of date Kampinski

    parallels seems to be promoting a virus software from Kampinski, but kampinski no longer support it, so dont waste your money. I keep getting database out of date and when I search I get the below message.
    Kaspersky Internet Security has end-of-lifed updates for Parallels Internet Security as of December 2011.

    Tx
     
  10. johnhurley macrumors 6502a

    johnhurley

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #10
    Yes the current install will take any valid license key ...

    If you have an old system no longer running you may be able to go thru the microsoft activation process ( via phone typically ) and use that license.

    You run a piece of software that generates a string of digits ... you call into microsoft and thru the phone give it that string of digits ... it checks it out ... and generates back a string of digits that you type in ... it asks you how many systems are currently using that piece of software before making a decision on whether to generate you back an activation code.
     
  11. jlc1978 macrumors 68000

    jlc1978

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #11
    There are number of free options that would work just fine. No need to buy anything.

    You can turn off access to WiFi/Ethernet and then never worry about Windows malware - simply d/l the updates on the Mac side and Parallels will see them in XP.

    As a side note, does XP run MS Security Center? I'm on Win7 and can't remember if it did.
     
  12. whiteonline macrumors 6502

    whiteonline

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Location:
    California, USA
    #13
    I would say antivirus can be optional in Windows; I don't browse the Web with IE (use Safari as integrated by Parallels) and I don't use pirated applications.

    My Parallels use is to provide access to Visual Studio and a few other Windows only programs. Not installing and antivirus helps to keep the VM resource usage as low as possible.
     
  13. Resqu2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #14
    So are you guys saying you need virus protection in Parallels even if you don't use the windows side for internet or e-mail? How would you get a virus?
     
  14. Apple OC macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown

Share This Page