Antivirus

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nando2323, Aug 16, 2007.

1. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

What is the best antivirus software for OSX. I'm a newb sorry if this sounds stupid.

2. bartelby macrumors Core

You don't, currently, need anti virus to protect OS X but you may want it if you exchange a lot of files with Windows. You can still pass a virus on.

I'm not sure what is a good app, but Norton is BAD for OS X.

3. techlover828 macrumors 68020

techlover828

ya, thats the beauty of OS X, no need for virus software.

4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

ClamXav is a good lightweight (and free!) virus scanner that will help keep you from passing along viruses to your Windows-using friends. But on the Mac side of things, you currently have nothing to worry about personally.

5. iMacBook macrumors 6502a

iMacBook

Is there anything that cleans out cache and the works?

Get rid of potential spyware and crap. I hate that stuff. Any suggestions?

6. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

WildCowboy

Staff Member

Spyware? We don't get that.

The automated cron scripts should take care of most of your cleaning needs, so most people don't really need to do manual cleaning. But have a look at OnyX if you want some control over these types of things.

7. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

no spyware to worry about either :D

8. RonRyan377 macrumors newbie

I want A 20" iMAC (nO ANTI-VIRUS NEEDED?)

Hello: Being a MS-Windows user since my first computer and now a new
    APPLE iMac owner soon; I understand that Apple computers are not bothered by computer viruses
    as MUCH as PC ownerers are.....but IF I do buy and install an anti-virus
    program for my new iMac,would that be money well spent if I do try and use
    Windows files occasionally?:confused:

RonRyan377

9. apfhex macrumors 68030

apfhex