Any A+ certified technicians around these forums?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by jc0481, Jul 11, 2009.

1. jc0481 macrumors regular

I am currently studying for the A+ exam. I received a A+ exam book just yesterday. This is the link for the book I bought from Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/Certification...r_1_35?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1247373666&sr=1-35

I was just wondering would this book be enough or should I read the Windows XP Resource Kit which I do have. This I know will read to cover the software side of the test. I am not sure if I need to read the Windows Vista Resource Kit though.

Hopefully they don't change the exams every yearr. That will make it harder to study for in my opinion. Also two more questions.

1. How much is the test?
    2. Also passing the test has this opened up many doors for you since passing the test?

I hope someone here can help me out with my questions.

Thanks.

2. IBobby macrumors regular

IBobby

1. The test should not be that much, when i took it i had a voucher from my schooling but if i remember correctly it was a little over 150 for the test total.

2. Passing the test will defo get you somewhere like a computer tech job at say your local computer shop / best buy geek squad...

I am now a systems administrator for CellularOne in N.E AZ and i never went back for the A+ Hardware section...

My looks on certifications are very differing than others, i hold 0 certifications and 24 very well experienced in the Windows / Unix field, certs are only to show the Employer that you took the test, what they are looking for is what you really know... Real world experience shows more than a piece of paper... But in reality take that test pass it and keep on trucking for the higher ones...

Inet+
    Linux+

Pretty much all the comptia books are really good reads... :D sorry for the rants.

3. steve2112 macrumors 68040

steve2112