Any alternatives to ZDNet clock

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Atomic101, May 8, 2013.

  1. Atomic101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #1
    Hi all

    Hope somebody can point me in the right direction.

    I have a mac pro 2008 & use lion & ZDNet clock to overclock to 3.55Ghz.
    To get it to overclock I have to start up in 32 bit, use ZDNet clock & then restart in 64 bit.

    I am about to buy an Nvidia Titan & this requires Mountain Lion 10.8.4
    But mountain lion does not have 32 bit mode. Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    I thought ML would allow 32bit startup by holding the "3" and the "2" key? That's only Lion?
     
  3. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #3
    Not since Developer Preview 1. All 64-bit kernel since, which is why original Mac Pro is unsupported.
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    Try boot in 32bit Lion, set clock, then reboot in ML. Should work that same.
     
  5. Atomic101 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #5
    Unfortunately its not that simple. The nvidia card will not display under Lion & I really don't want to have to swap monitor cables each time. I was thinking there might be a windows equivalent that I can overclock the FSB & then boot ML.
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland

Share This Page