any architects running autocad out there?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by 14&t, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. 14&t macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #1
    i just bought a MBP (15", 2.4ghz, i5, 4gb of ram) and want to know if its worth buying Parallels just to run AUTOCAD on it... will it run too slow on my machine for professional use? what is your experience? Thanks!
     
  2. dmoreno26 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #2
    i have the same mbp and im an architecture student..

    from what i heard parralels is alot less stable as far as performance then if u actually use bootcamp..

    parralels might be better suited for lighter things, im sure cad might push the boundary..

    btw. what windows are u going to run?
     
  3. Aldaris macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #3
    You'll be fine with that machine, parallels or boot camp will be fine-
     
  4. gahideg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #4
    Using both AutoCad and Revit 2011...

    No problems (well, there is the occaisional crash but pretty seldom). I am using Vista Ultimatex64, but will probably be upgrading to Win7. I'm using a MBPro17 w/4GB RAM, and a 150 GB NTFS partition. Runs both much better than on Parallels; Parallels just seemed horribly slow, so I went the BootCamp route.
     
  5. OpenLaszlo macrumors member

    OpenLaszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    #5
    I'm not an architect myself, but I have done some extensive CAD modeling in AutoCAD and Autodesk Inventor for a robotics group on my university campus. I've found that when dealing with models with a large number of parts (over 100), that any VM software will tend to act very sluggish. I eventually just decided to install bootcamp and have had no issues so far, and am quite please with performance.
     
  6. 14&t thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #6
    xp

    thanks for the advice all!
    (i have windows xp but might upgrade... )
     
  7. BSchorr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Sioux Falls
    #7
    My Autocad 2007 on my MBP works great! Windows XP Home with VMWare Fusion 3

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  8. cmon360 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #8
    Which version of Parallels are you using?
     
  9. BSchorr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    Sioux Falls

Share This Page