Any buyer's remorse after purchasing your new MBP?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cjohnson348, Mar 21, 2013.

1. cjohnson348 macrumors newbie

Hey guys. I'm a newbie. I currently have an iPhone 5 and iPad 2. I made the jump to Mac last night and got one of the refurbished 13 rMBP with 8gb RAM and 256 SSD for a little over $1400. I've never spent this much money on a device in my life! I'm freaking out over here and seriously reconsidering my purchase. I originally had my eye on the Air, but when I saw the rMBP deal I couldn't pass it up. I have the average consumer's computer needs (e-mailing, web surfing, streaming videos, >10gb of music). I do work from home occasionally via Citrix, and I am a SimCity fanatic. Very happy I have 14 days to decide if I really want this thing.

Has anyone else experienced this kind of buyer's remorse (especially as a first time Mac owner)?

2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

If you have buyers remorse then cancel your purchase. Clearly it is too much for you to spend on a computer. For what you do, a Macbook Air would have been more than enough and/or go with a Windows Laptop. In 2011 I spent $2200 on my 15" Macbook Pro and have never questioned how much I spent on it. When the Haswell rMBP's come out I will upgrade to a 15" rMBP and expect to spend the same (possibly more). Then again I run my business off my laptop and can justify it because it will ultimately pay for itself.

Edit: The only buyers remorse I have had is that I bought a 2011 Macbook Air with only 4GB of RAM (4 was max in 2011) and that is not nearly enough for me. I was remorseful not because of what I spent on it, but that it became obsolete for my purposes so quickly. I can only use it now for internet/email/etc.

3. jjhoekstra macrumors regular

In your case I would send it back and go for an Air. With your computer needs it will be amazingly good.

4. Cheffy Dave macrumors 68030

Cheffy Dave

Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl