Any chance of an iPhone on the 1700-MHz band?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Komiksulo, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. Komiksulo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario
    #1
    Any rumours that the next iPhone will include the 1700-MHz band? This band is used by Wind Mobile in Canada and I believe by T-Mobile in the USA.

    I was at the Wind Mobile store in the Holt-Renfrew Centre in Toronto last week, and the place reminded me of Fido before it got bought by Rogers. If an iPhone could use that frequency, and I wasn't in the middle of a Rogers/Fido contract, I might well have jumped to Wind.
     
  2. iTouch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #2
    I would say no for now. It's AT&T only. If you want 1700mhz, T-Mobile will have to show the money like AT&T did. Verizon is possible since the iPhone also has WCDMA but then again Verizon has to show the money as well.
     
  3. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #3
    WCDMA != CDMA2000. Two completely different and incompatible standards. The iPhone does not support CDMA2000, which is what Verizon uses.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    That's right
     
  5. Buskape macrumors 6502

    Buskape

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    NGC 4889
    #5
    I really hope apple localize the next iphone for europe..

    I'm in switzerland and when switching from my N95 to the iPhone 3GS, i was kind of sad to not see 3G+ on the iphone while the N95 supported that network speed.
     
  6. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #6

Share This Page