Any classic MBPs have SATAIII optical connection?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macdot, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. macdot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #1
    Wondering if the 2011 or 2012 MBPs have a SATAIII (6Gbs) connection to the optical drive. Seeing if it would be possible to run two SATAIII SSDs internally. Thanks!
     
  2. Relznuk macrumors 6502

    Relznuk

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    UT, USA
  3. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #3
    Correction. Some early 2011 models don't have SIII in their optical bay drive. Either way the SIII in said drive was crippled. Macs manufactured after mid may got the new connector.
     
  4. Rajpdx, Jul 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012

    Rajpdx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #4
    No not on 2011 15" and 17" models - the optical bay supports SATA 3 but the rest of the wiring doesn't seem to so this won't work. You need to put a SATA 2 drive in the optical bay.

    The 2011 13" models are sata 3 in both bays according to OWC and they've raided two SATA 3 drives in those.

    According to OWC the 2012 models take SATA 3 in both bays - but there have been a couple of posts here from people with 2012 models having issues with SATA 3 in the optical bay and it's not yet clear if it's the same problem as with the 2011 models or a result of the optical bay adapter they were using being inadequate to the task (I'm sceptical of that though).

    http://blog.macsales.com/page/8
     
  5. esskay macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #5
    As noted by someone else above, some early 2011 13's have SATA 2 in the optical bay (including mine, I checked!).
     
  6. The Bad Guy macrumors 6502a

    The Bad Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    SSD certainly didn't work as intended when placed in the ODD bay of my new 2012 15" MBP. :(
     
  7. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    Mine is working just fine.

    What specifically wasn't working for you?
     
  8. Relznuk macrumors 6502

    Relznuk

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    UT, USA
    #8
    Interesting! My mid-2011 one had SATA III, so I kind of assumed that it was a Sandy Bridge thing. My bad!
     
  9. The Bad Guy macrumors 6502a

    The Bad Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    The SSD as a boot drive.

    I went through all sorts of grief to get it working, but in the end had to change bays to get it going properly.
     

Share This Page