Any decent USB-C to Firewire solution?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Boneheadxan, Jan 13, 2017.

  1. Boneheadxan macrumors regular

    Boneheadxan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #1
    Does anyone have a solution to run Firewire devices on the new Macbook Pros? I'm aware of the OWC Thunderbolt Dock coming out soon. Not sure how soon I'd be able to grab one.

    I read reports online that the USB-C>>Thunderbolt 2>>Firewire (2 dongles from Apple) doesn't seem to work.

    Just wondering if there are any other solutions out there?
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Unless someone markets a USB-c to firewire converter cable/adapter (unlikely), I think you "covered it" above...
     
  3. WiLLGT09 macrumors regular

    WiLLGT09

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #3
    Interesting. I have a new n-TB MBP coming in a few days, and I have a bunch of FW800 drives. I asked via Apple Store chat, and the person said you could stack the two adapters like you mentioned. Did the stacked/chained adapters not work for bus-powered FW800 drives, or desktop/powered drives too?
     
  4. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #4
    "Did the stacked/chained adapters not work for bus-powered FW800 drives, or desktop/powered drives too?"

    I guess you're going to have to try it yourself, and report back to us re your experiences… ;)
     
  5. WiLLGT09 macrumors regular

    WiLLGT09

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
  6. kanselmo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #6
    Your mileage may vary with your devices, but some good news, I can confirm that USB-C>Thunderbolt 2>Firewire does indeed work in at least some situations. I have the touchbar MB Pro 13" which I use to record music. My interface is firewire. I just used it a week ago and it worked perfectly. A note, I did use the Apple USB-C>Thunderbolt 2 and Thunderbolt 2>Firewire 800 adapters.

     
  7. Boneheadxan thread starter macrumors regular

    Boneheadxan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #7
    That is great news for me. While not an interface, I need to hook up a DSP processor for audio (UAD Satellite Firewire). It does have it's own power supply and I hope that helps.
     

Share This Page