Any DJ in the house?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by rei101, Aug 29, 2014.

1. rei101 macrumors 6502a

Hi

I have a Mac Book Pro 17" and two iPad G4. I do electronic music and I am an audio engineer and stuff. I am a professional VJ, have done shows at teh Ultra Music festival and things like that for over 10 years.

I want to do some DJing to spare time and have fun at parties and probably mixing at some places eventually, for the fun of it and to make some money here and there.

Any way, I was thinking in buying a Pioneer DJ DDJ-SZ Professional Serato DJ Controller or something like that. But I have my MBP and two iPads.

Is there a way I can have a DJ software in the MBP and control it from the two iPads for scratching? And what DJ software is the best out there?

I already have OSC and Lemur I believe. But can I use the two iPads to control at same time? I would like to take that route and have some fun before expending money in a Pioneer.

Thank you!!!!

2. Johbremat macrumors regular

• Buy a mixer and decent set of headphones
    • Buy the Traktor DJ app
    • Load the app on both iPads and wire output to mixer

Saves having to use your MBP. Learns the basics (track selection, blending, beat matching) and decide if it's worth spending more money on hardware or if this type of setup is suitable for you, and if the money and your time is better spent on developing your track library.

3. sim667 macrumors 65816

'Kinell, a DDJ SZ is a bit overkill for "giving it a go" :eek: My housemate has one, they're beautiful pieces of kit, but about £1700?! Also you've gotta think about logistics, if you end up playing at club nights, how many people are going to want to clear their CDJ's etc off the mixing table, to accomodate a DDJ SZ which comes in at over a metre long.