Any Doctors in here?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by justaregularjoe, Dec 20, 2009.

1. justaregularjoe macrumors 6502

Inspired by user 'tsic219', I thought I might ask some questions to those here who are the gods among us (lol) 2 things: I live in Canada, and plan to goto school here, and I want to become a surgeon.

First, what is it like? Seriously. Is it more pencil pushing and explaining than cutting? Do the surgeries make it worthwhile at the end of the day?

Second, is the career overall worth it? Do you like it? is the pain caused by the patients you lose dulled by the ones you save?

Finally, any recommendations for schools? Especially Canadian schools? Any other assorted tips at getting into/surviving the career?

Thanks for anything you can tell me.

2. ethical macrumors 68000

I'm not a doctor, but I'm a medical student in the UK.

All I can say is get some work experience!! Over here it's crucial to get work experience in order to get in, especially as it's so fiercely competitive. It proves to the school you've really looked into what's involved and you're committed to the life-long career. It'll also give you a personal idea of what it's like, rather than deciding based on someone else's opinion.

As for how to get in, I don't know what it's like in Canada but here you have to really show you've got the necessary attributes to be a doctor. Compassion, empathy, dedication, personal drive, communication skills etc etc. And, as I mentioned before, you need to prove that you really know what's involved and that you're committed.

If I can help any further then just send me a message!

3. snberk103 macrumors 603

My father was on the medical school track. He had the marks and he got into a good school for his pre-med studies. Went to his first autopsy, and became a sociologist. Get some practical experience early on, eh?!

4. stonyc macrumors 65816

stonyc

I don't have any advice, but I have a joke and some personal thoughts.