Any engineers using a MB?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mxelre, Aug 6, 2008.

1. mxelre macrumors member

mxelre

Starting Uni early september and I need a new computer (3 yrs old windows tower has given up:mad:). I always thought I'd have to go for the MBP because I thought I would need the power and the dedicated graphics. Im majoring mech. eng. and I've heard we are gonna use CAD programs such as solidworks and other stuff like that quite extensively. With the revision coming soon I dont feel like buying a 2K$ MBP and see an upgrade not even a month later. I'd rather buy a 1K$ laptop and keep some money for a powerful desktop tower(maybe a iMac who knows:cool:) + I already have a beautiful 20" samsung monitor. If any of you have gone through this kind of study using a macbook or have heard about something closely related to this any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Max

2. war eagle macrumors 6502a

Software engineering major here. I have a MacBook and i'm fine. MacBook Pro i'd say is more towards the graphic designers and the such.

Boot Camping windows will almost be a necessity though unless you have access to a computers at your school. While the Mac can handle most of the program I use, they just arent made for OS X.

Hope that helps,
    sideline

3. galactic732 macrumors member

i am a senior in mechanical and nuclear engineering.

i have never needed a personal laptop that is anything more than a macbook.

the most youre going to need probably is excel. when i need autocad or solidworks i go to a lab. i'm actually more productive there anyways b/c i get away from the distractions/my roommates.

i have the midrange macbook and am completely fine.

also, dont get two computers if youre living in a dorm. that would take up wayyy to much space

4. dasikes macrumors 6502a

dasikes

I'm not an engineer, but my brother is.