Any flaws with my plan to unlock for better service

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TripleS, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. TripleS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #1
    I have been googling all day to trouble shoot how to get my new G3 iphone to work with a digicel sim card, while still maintaining my music and and address book.
    Please let me know if you see any flaws in how I will proceed--Thanks in advance
    1) Remove the att sim card
    2) Unlock new/unused/registered g3 with either;
    unlock-the-iphone or autoiphoneunlocker
    3) without registering the phone go to my itunes and synce my address book, music and itunes apps
    4) Place the digical sim card into the phone.

    With these step would anyone foresee me having any issues using my Jamaican carrier with my iphone g3 and my already loaded address book, apps and music.
    Thanks in advance for any help you can offer or ideas on better software or process.
     
  2. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #2
    Any reason you're not using PwnageTool or QuickPwn?
     
  3. TripleS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #3
    No reason. Would your suggestion be to use either of those two over the 2 I have listed? Other than your software suggestion, so you see any other issues with how I proceed?
    thanks again
     
  4. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #4
    PwnageTool and QuickPwn provide a consistent, reliable way to unlock the iPhone. I've never heard of either of the two solutions you mentioned, but even if they are free, I still wouldn't trust them more than the solutions that the "Dev Team" have created. If you've got a Mac, I'd recommend using PwnageTool, but either one will work.
     
  5. TripleS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #5
    Thanks, and I do have a mac s. I'll go with your recommendation.
    Also, should I remove the att sim before installing and will I be able to sync to my itunes after installing the new sim.
    your posts are very much appreciated.
    thanks
     
  6. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #6
    unlock-the-iphone and autoiphoneunlocker are scams. They basically create an ispw for you and let you download them. THEY TRY TO PROFIT $$ FROM DEV-TEAM + OTHER'S HARD WORK WITH PWNAGETOOL, QUICKPWN, AND YELLOWSN0W!

    The only way for you to use an iPhone 3G unlocked is with yellowsn0w. Also, you must be sure your iPhone is 2.2 as 2.2.1 baseband won't allow yellowsn0w to run.

    If you have a mac, be sure to connect the iPhone using a USB Hub as the 10.5.6 update for Mac OSX blocks DFU mode. Also, use pwnagetool as if it pwns the 2.2.1 firmware, it won't update the baseband.

    Remember. iPhone OS 2.2.1 = unable to unlock and iPhone OS 2.2 = good for unlock as long as you don't update unless with pwnagetool.
     
  7. TripleS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
  8. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #8
    I found it hilarious to read about autoiphoneunlocker.com or whatever and see their banner ad below this thread, on macrumors.com, in their hacking forum. God I wish there were some way to ban that kind of crap from showing up.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    Or if you follow the instructions on the dev team blog they show you how to re-enable dfu mode without wasting money on a usb hub. I suggest that. It worked perfectly for me. :)
     
  10. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #10
    Firefox + AdBlock Plus. You may well never see another ad on the internet. :)
     
  11. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #11
    I wouldn't suggest that. I've tried that on my iMac and Macbook. It worked flawlessly on my iMac but it screwed up my Macbook. I'm not the only one who had problems so thats why I suggested only the USB Hub.
     
  12. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #12
    I wouldn't suggest it either. :) I'd spend the $10 on a USB hub and know it was $10 well spent knowing my Mac is still going to work normally. Tinkering with my iPhone and having to restore is a pain at times, but doable. Tinkering with the USB kexts may work, but I'd be afraid of future updates as I have heard it's simple a bug in the kext and may be fixed in a future Leopard update.
     
  13. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #13
    Did you try the old automator way? Where it copies the file to your desktop and then your computer reboots (that is the old way and it messed up my computer) This way on the dev team blog, it uses an installer from the official apple developers page. I trust it. :D
     
  14. skwij macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Belleville, ON, Canada
    #14
    DFU works fine for me on 10.5.6 with no external USB hub at all.

    I do have a 2 year old MB, though.
     

Share This Page