Any Handbrake Experts Here?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by myusernamesucks, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. myusernamesucks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #1
    I know that this is completely taking the thread in the wrong direction, but I've been searching formus for some time now with not a lot of luck - maybe one of you can help.....

    I'm trying to convert a h.264 file to play on apple TV using Handbrake. Video works fine, but Audio is half speed - and for the life of me I can't figure out why. I tried using Toast and everything works great on a sample file, but it looked like it was going to take 12-15 hours just to convert one file. Anyone experience similar issues/have another conversion utility I can try? (I've also used VisualHub, but it doesn't support 5.1 Audio)

    Thanks all.
     
  2. doctoree macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Location:
    Secret lair/ Earthmiddlepoint
    #2
    just make shure your source is a clean, standard video (like on a dvd) and then use one of the suplied presets in handbreak. (make sure to use the latest version of handbreak which is brand new, only a couple of weeks old)
     
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    I second that but me thinks someone has a case of headphone envy ... ;)
     
  4. myusernamesucks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #4
    I'm using the ATV preset - have tried playing with bitrates but with no success. I'm using 0.9.4, which I believe is the latest version. Oh well - thanks for the input anyway everyone.
     
  5. MrMister111 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #5
    try the Apple Universal preset. I can confirm it plays on AppleTV fine for me.

    Make sure your not doing anything on the computer that your converting it on, as it basically takes 100% CPU so using it whilst Handbrake is converting may affect the output
     
  6. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #6
    It wont have any impact on the quality of the encoded file, but it will probably make the encode take a longer to complete.
     
  7. myusernamesucks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #7

    If I didn't have a day job this would all be so much easier......I'll try tonight on the Universal preset and see what happens.

    Thanks all.
     
  8. Koyangie macrumors newbie

    Koyangie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    #8
    ATV File Size Limitations

    Interesting discussion. I'm new to ATV and have been working to convert my DVD library and have seen mixed results with various H264 settings, that is changing the constant quality setting. I've mostly set it at 75% with good results but then I get some large files that won't sync to ATV and then again files smaller than 3GB won't sync also. So, what is the upper limit of file size that ATV will handle.
     
  9. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #9
    75% cq is ridiculous. The supplied preset for the atv should give you very nice results. Yes, it can be tweaked here and there but at the risk of compatibility depending on the source. I use hb a fair amount for the atv ... by and large it has been a long time since I have seen a 3 GB file and most of my sd dvd encodes are transparent visually to the source for all intents and purposes.
     
  10. myusernamesucks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #10

    I think you're perhaps dealing with a different problem that file size - I was playing around with my audio problem last night using a 1 minute clip (20 MB or thereabouts) and had no problem syncing to ATV. You may actually be dealing with a video bit rate issue. I have seen in the past where a file can be added to iTunes, but not sync to ATV because the video frame rate is too high (I think it needs to be set at 29.97 for a 720p file)
     
  11. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #11
    As the specs for the atv state. 29.976 fps is the limit. over that and its a no go. Simple.
     
  12. bohbot16 macrumors 6502a

    bohbot16

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #12
    That's for 540p and below, correct? For 720p you can only go up to 25fps.
     
  13. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    are you streaming the movie over the network, or copying to the :apple:TV then playing the movie? the :apple:TV preset in handbrake definitely works, it might be something else.

    do you have the latest version of HB?
     
  14. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #14
    correct.
     
  15. comradesnarky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #15
    Let me get this straight...you have an h.264 file (NOT a DVD) that has 5.1 audio, and it's not coming out of Handbrake right?

    This is a known problem with Handbrake. I'm guessing this h.264 file (of dubious legality ;)) is using AAC 5.1 audio sampled at 48khz. Handbrake just can't convert that right for some reason. Your AppleTV wouldn't be able to play it either. If I'm not mistaken the only 5.1 it can handle is AC3 (Dolby Digital) formatted.
     
  16. myusernamesucks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #16
    Ummmm nooooo - I got it from this guy who knows a guy.......:rolleyes:

    That's what I kind of figured - I had read on a few forums that Handbrake had a known audio issue, but no one made any reference to what the issue actually is.

    I can rest easy now.....

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page