Any ideas what is wrong with my xbox 360?

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by davidjearly, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. davidjearly macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #1
    I've just had this come up on the display whilst starting up the console. Happens within 10-15 secs of powering it on. The system is completely frozen, but no abnormal lights on the front of the xbox.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Try a different hdmi cable and make sure ts well ventilated. All else fails its the gpu on the fritz
     
  3. davidjearly thread starter macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #3
    It's the component model, so no HDMI. Tried changing the cable but it is intermittently happening with both.
     
  4. yetieater macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    If it's the component model only, it's a good deal old and that points it towards the GPU on the fritz alright.

    Yep time to ring M$ sadly though without a RedRing report you might not quality for a free warranty repair :(
     
  6. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #6
    It's most likely the GPU is on the blink. It's not something you're going to be able to fix. If its under warranty then call tech support to get it fixed. If its not under warranty then youre probably out of luck. The same thing happened with one of my previous Xbox's. I'm on my third now.
     
  7. Rychy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    #7
    Besides it being a 360? ( joke )

    My 360 started to freeze right before it died ... it was three weeks out of warranty and Microsoft wouldn't fix it for free.
     
  8. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    Just run it until it red rings, then you should qualify for a warranty fix with microshaft.
     

Share This Page