Any interest in a tutorial for installing 10.6.x on a Mac Pro 2012?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by monkeybagel, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Working on a solution to do this for those who need it using 10.6.0 or 10.6.3 retail DVD media. If there is any interest perhaps I can post a how to...
     
  2. monkeybagel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    Update - I did get it working. Seems to work fine using 10.6.0 media as a starting point.
     
  3. rezwits macrumors 6502a

    rezwits

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #3
    That's amazing

    I thought these Mac Pro's were all super similar, but that's amazing
     
  4. monkeybagel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    And it's very cool - makes them the most versatile Macintosh on the market if one needs to run legacy applications.

    That's one of the many reasons I opted for one now instead of after the refresh.
     
  5. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #5
    The 2012 Mac Pro is identical to the 2010 Mac Pro.

    The only difference is the CPUs, which really have nothing to do with the OS. If you have a copy of the 10.6 installation disks that came with the 2010 unit (or know someone who does), then you can install Snow Leopard directly on the 2012 unit without any modifications.

    Again, the machines are identical. Same part numbers *everywhere*, except for the CPU chips. The 2012 CPUs will work in a 2010 machine and visa versa.

    -SC
     
  6. monkeybagel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    I don't know of anyone with the 10.6 restore disks. Have you heard of Apple selling then to owners of a 2012?
     
  7. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #7
  8. monkeybagel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #8
  9. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #9
    I have a question...why?

    Do you want to use Rosetta/PowerPC apps?
     
  10. monkeybagel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #10
    For me personally - just to see if it could be done. I see so much conflicting information on the Internet about it - some say the 2012 models had a firmware change that was enough to "break" Snow Leopard, but that did not seem to be the case (and I wasn't expecting it either.)


    I thought if there were enough intersted people that need Snow Leopard to run legacy applications and PowerPC applications then it may benefit them.
     
  11. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #11
    Thank you :)
    Was just wondering.
     

Share This Page