Any Lightroom users with 2019 iMac?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by trs0722, May 5, 2019.

  1. trs0722 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #1
    I've been a LR user for years mainly with a 2012 Mac mini quad core. Upgraded this week to the new base 27" iMac (8GB RAM, 3.0 i5 six core, Radeon Pro 570X 4 GB). Ordering more RAM soon. My camera is Nikon D7500 shooting RAW. I'm still putting it though the paces. While this iMac is fast and the display way better than the Dell I was using, I wouldn't say it is way faster than my older mini which also had an SSD. The Blackmagic tests I did do say it is WAY faster though. :)

    I'm having one significant issue and was wondering if anyone had feedback or advice. I was hoping to cull my images (NEF) in full screen mode (clicking "x" to delete ones I don't want) When I press "f" for full screen mode in either Library or Develop mode, it takes at least 5 or 6 seconds to switch to full screen and then about 15 seconds to go between photos using arrow keys. Frustratingly slow!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68010

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #2
    Are you rendering 1:1 previews when importing your images into Lr? Import will take a bit longer but just walk away, go have a coffee type thing. When viewing your images for culling you don't have to wait for Lr to generate the full size preview.

    The larger previews do take-up a bit more space but they're removed when you delete an image.
     
  3. trs0722 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #3
    I used to click standard or 1:1 but I must have forgotten to click that setting when I migrated everything over. You're right...I bet that will fix it. Thanks!!!
    --- Post Merged, May 5, 2019 ---
    Tried both "standard" and "1:1"...still same slow speed.
     
  4. mpfuchs macrumors 6502

    mpfuchs

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    That might actually be a Lightroom issue.
    I'm using a way older machine than you, but Lightroom is really slow rendering images, regardless of previews being created.
    After downloading and giving Photo Mechanic a try, I'm happy to report, that culling is really fun in that program. No more waiting on images being loaded. They're just showing up instantly. Yes, I'm talking about raw images, but I'm using Canon. You might want to check out their 30 day trail.
     
  5. mofunk macrumors 68020

    mofunk

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Americas
    #5
    I'm on 2014 MBP with LR and its not as nearly as slow as what you are describing. Are you using the current version or what you were using on the 2012 Mac Mini?

    Adding more memory should help. You should have the max memory on your Mac especially when you are doing any editing of video or photos. I try to get around 16GB (minimum). Unless you like spending more time waiting.
     
  6. trs0722 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #6
    LR is version 6.14. I thought I read the memory isn't as big a factor as the processor for much of the editing. I did have 16gb RAM in my Mini and it was faster. I'm ordering the 16GB Ram so I'll have 24GB. Hoping this improves the speed.
     
  7. Michael Scrip macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Location:
    NC
    #7
    Lightroom on Windows here...

    Fullscreen is also slow for me browsing images with the arrow keys. So I hardly ever use Fullscreen.

    I always browse images in the Library Module... never the Develop Module. It's very quick with my SSD and Standard Previews.

    First I minimize all the panels to get the largest possible image.

    I cull my images in the Library Module and give my keepers a Rating... then I filter out the Unrated photos to delete them or whatever.

    Sorry I can't offer any more suggestions. Lightroom doesn't seem to be very performant on either platform... :p
     
  8. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68010

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    Not sure what's going on but it wouldn't hurt to check-out Adobe's info on optimizing Lr if you haven't already.
     
  9. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 68000

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #9
    Have you checked to make sure LR is using Metal/hardware acceleration? Based on your description, it sounds like the GPU is not being leveraged.
     
  10. trs0722 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #10
    Thanks for the reminder. That's been on my list.
    --- Post Merged, May 12, 2019 ---
    Thanks...yes it was checked.
    --- Post Merged, May 12, 2019 ---
    Update: New RAM installed bringing it to 24GB. Full screen very fast now!
     
  11. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 68000

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #11
    Interesting. You shouldn’t have seen that big of a jump, unless you were RAM starved to begin with. I didn’t have trouble with LR with only 8GB. I guess either way it’s good that it’s working for you. Maybe your RAW files are much bigger.
     
  12. trs0722 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Location:
    Newark, DE
    #12
    Yes, I was surprised myself. With LR and a few other apps open, I was running around 6.7GB used out of the 8.
     

Share This Page

11 May 5, 2019