Any luck on a flashed 5770 on a 1,1 MacPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AnimeFunTv, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. AnimeFunTv macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio
    #1
    It seems like a lot of focus is on the 5890 on the 1,1 MP and the outlook currently dose not sound too good. (64bit EFI, etc.)

    So how about the 5770? From searching around the 5770 seems to be equal to the 4890, but since the 4890 needs patches in order for it to work properly, a 5770 would be a much better choice for those to dont want to keep re-patching kexts with each update since the 5770 is native to OSX.

    My question is has anyone had any success with a flashed 5770 card, and what model no.

    On one topic it was discusses that the OEM Apple 5770 did work on a 1,1 MP.
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    5870 has ubc and will work in any mac pro
    same with 5770

    problem with flashing is that efi is too big to add to pc card firmware
    atleast for 5870, 5770 dunno
    and flashing vanilla just won't work, for neither model
    we'll figure it out
     
  3. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #3
    5870 works in our 2006 Mac Pro

    I borrowed a used 2006 Mac Pro from PowerMax.com. I installed the Radeon HD 5870 from our Westmere 6-core along with its boot drive. It booted up the first time no problemo.

    I tried the Mini DisplayPorts with and without the MDP to DVI adapter. Works fine. Right now I'm running game benchmarks on a 24" LED Cinema display plugged directly into the MDP.

    OWC techies have the 5770 running in their 2006 Mac Pro but could not get the 5870 to boot -- black screen. They are investigating what's different about their 2006 from the one I'm using.
     
  4. AnimeFunTv thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio
    #4
    2006 MacPro came in two forms Woodcrest 1,1 & Clovertown 2,1 both from what I have heard have diffrent firmware rev.
     

Share This Page