Any MBP users that use a PC 'Selfbuilder' at home ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CHSeifert, Apr 17, 2011.

1. CHSeifert macrumors 6502

CHSeifert

Hey :)

I wonder how many of you MBP users use a PC selfbuilder at home for games and power app work (Photoshop, Illutstartor, Indesign and so on)

I hook my MBP up to an ACD 27" when at home in a dual setup with another ACD 27" which is hooked up to my Lian Li PC Selfbuild PC.

This way I feel I get the best of two worlds :)

Any of you guys like to build your own PC and also are fan of Macs :cool:
    I would use MacPro's if not for having to deal with old tech at a premium price (SATA 2, old CPU tech, old GPU tech and no USB 3 or Thunderbolt)

2. akhbhaat macrumors regular

I do. I've been building my own desktops since 1998 or so.

The desktop is really my primary machine; runs Linux (primarily) and Windows (gaming--when I have time!). The Mac is just what I use when I'm away from home. Love the keyboard, trackpad, screen, size/weight and so forth; those were the qualities I emphasize in a portable computer. Don't care so much about raw performance or GPU power (though the new i5 is remarkably capable for a mobile CPU) when I have my desktop beast to do the heavy lifting. :)

3. Manacit macrumors member

Manacit

I gave my mom my desktop build when I bought a new 2011 MBP. The specs were:

E6600 OCed to 3.2Ghz
    8800 GTS 640MB
    4GB DDR2 RAM
    nVidia 650i SLi Motherboard
    320GB SATA Drive & some random SATA DVD Burner
    All wrapped up in a nice Lian-Li case

Looking at geekbench scores, it would have probably scored about 1/2 as much as my 2.3 15" MBP, so there was really no point in keeping it around when I can just plug my MBP into my old monitor. I've been toying with building a desktop, but my MBP is powerful enough that there's basically no point.

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I have a core i7 2.8Ghz, OC'd to 3.6 as my main machine. My MBP is my backup machine.