Any Myst games compatible with Leopard/Intel?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Carissa, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. Carissa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #1
    I would like to be able to play Myst III, IV, or V on my Macbook but I wasn't sure if I would be throwing my money away to buy them if they won't work. From what I understand, you have to have an OS 9 partition to play Myst III under OSX, is this true? Does anyone know if these games will work with 10.5? I downloaded the Myst V demo for Mac and it crashes my computer all the time. Is this just a demo issue or will the game do this too??

    My Macbook is 1.83ghz intel core duo, 2 gig of ram, running Leopard.
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    There is a patch for Myst V to install on intel macs, but the game is not a Universal Binary. You might have better luck with bootcamp, especially considering the MacBook's integrated graphics. You can install Myst III, but it is slightly tricky. Myst IV will run, but it is not UB.
     
  3. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #3
    It's not true...Myst III is OS X native, though not UB. If you have a DVD version, the installation doesn't require Classic...in fact there is no installer, you just drag a couple folders to your hard drive. It doesn't like more than one CPU core though, so you have to temporarily disable one while playing or else the sound skips. I doubt Myst V runs on integrated graphics at all.

    --Eric
     
  4. Carissa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #4
    Ok, so it sounds like Myst III and IV might be my best option to try. If the Myst V demo crashes my computer now, it's probably likely that the full version will do the same.
     
  5. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #5
    See if you can get the Myst IV Limited Edition, which includes Myst III (on DVD, so there aren't any installation problems). Although I have to say Myst III was a little disappointing. Neither were actually made by Cyan, but I thought Myst IV was a lot closer to the first two, in particular Riven.

    --Eric
     
  6. FreedomFighter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #6
    FYI if you don't reduce the shadowing graphic effects in the graphics options menu in game before you start the playing it will always quit so make sure you turn the down first. I had to when i bought Myst V but works wonderful on my iMac!!!

    a great game you will enjoy it

    Freedom
     
  7. Carissa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #7
    Thanks, I'll try the demo again and do that first. It was just randomly crashing, sometimes I could play for a while and sometimes it would happen fairly quickly. Are you running os 10.5?

    edit: argh, it still quit on me. But this time it didn't totally crash my computer, it just quit the program unexpectedly. Too bad you can save anything in the demo, I have to go and watch Esher all over again to get to where I was... I'm going to turn the video quality all the way down on everything and see what happens.
     
  8. Carissa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #8
    Well, after some playing around, the Myst V demo is working fine. But the only way I can do anything else on my computer is if I quit! It doesn't respond to any shortcut keys other than command/option/esc which of course kills it. Does anyone know how I can get out of Myst temporarily without quitting the game?
     
  9. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #9
    You probably can't...most games don't have that option.

    --Eric
     
  10. FreedomFighter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #10
    To get out of the game for a short time, on the start menu there is a button Primer Hints i think. Click that, the close the window so you don't cheat lol. this puts the game into a windowed version, then you can access the desktop. or you can just play the game in windowed the whole time, otherwise there is no way to get out for a short period of time.

    P.S once you have clicked the button you will need to go into options and put the game back into full screen.

    freedom:)
     
  11. Carissa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #11
    Ok, sounds good, that must be in the full version only since there are no such options in the demo. I'll watch for that when I buy it.
     
  12. HenryMagician macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #12
    Just found this on a search.
    Does anyone know if just the classic MYST, and maybe Riven, have any way to work on Leopard?
    Please?
     
  13. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #13
    For Myst you'll need a copy of RealMyst, which is hard to come by. For Riven, you're pretty much out of luck...so far. This guy is working on an OS X port.
     
  14. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
  15. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #15
    Yeah...I'm just waiting for Riven X to work for the CD version.

    Please, please, please! :)

    I miss that game... the ones made by Ubisoft were just never quite as good...
     
  16. JeffTL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    #16
    I guess you can use Boot Camp (and possibly Virtual PC 07 for Windows on your bootcamp partition, which is free, and one of the copies of Windows 98 that many people still have lying around) and run Riven that way. I haven't tried yet, though.
     
  17. jksmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #17
    I just purchased Myst IV two days ago to run on my 24" imac. The game doesn't work at all. I had to run it on bootcamp (vista). I don't know about Exile or V, but I know for sure IV won't work on OS 10.5 (intel).
     
  18. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #18
    I've run Riven in my XP virtual machine, and it ran fine. But cycling through my old old Riven copy's 5 cd's is tiring enough, I don't want to have to run it in windows, too. I'm waiting for Riven X.... Patience.....

    Why, oh, why do you do this to us Ubisoft? I understand the Millers probably don't have enough resources to go back and rerelease Riven for OS X, but why does Ubisoft have such terrible support for Macs in these new installments of the series? Do they have no respect for its origins?

    MYST WAS MADE ON A MAC!

    :confused:
     
  19. blackkitt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #19
    Exile help on new iMac

    I just got the Myst IV LimEd. on DVD, and installation seemed to be a snap -- the familiar look and music -- but when I try to start a new game, I'm asked to insert the disk. Thing is, the disk IS already in the drive.

    So went to ubisoft support, found and downloaded two patches for Exile. But I'm not a techie. The instructions talked about partitions and extracting files and I don't have a clue.

    Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
     
  20. arothman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    #20
    V works

    I just played through Myst V on my Leopard iMac without error. It kicked ass.
     
  21. Vardos992 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #21
    Myst compatability

    I have the following Myst games....I will give system reqiurements for each ....as read from the game sleeve..:

    MYST 3 EXILE......mac os 8.1 or higher (i suppose they mean up to Mac os 9
    MYST END OF AGES.....Macos 10.2.8- 10.4.0 with G4 processor
    MYST REVELATION ......Macos 10.2 -10.3 with G4 OR G5 processor
    MYST REAL ....Macos 8.6 or higher up to 9
    I have a MacPowerbook G4 which has classic Mac os 9.1 and also Macos 10.3.9 and can play all of these games OK....however none will work on my Mackbook intel.....hope this has been helpful
     
  22. Vinda-lou macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #22
    Hi. First post. First Mac as of last month.

    I have a MBA 11 ultimate. Is there a way to play all the Myst games on it? I own all of them on dvds (PC/MAC dvds), and I can use my wife's MBP's dvd drive remotely to install. But how do I get it to play each time without the discs? Thanks.
     
  23. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #23
    For Riven, go here. Patches the game for OS X compatibility and no CD required.

    For the others, you could try making DMGs of the CDs.
     
  24. Vinda-lou macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #24
    Thanks for the Riven link. I tried it on my PC, but it kept crashing. Hopefully better luck on the mac.

    As for the DMGs... que?:)
     
  25. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #25
    http://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage/making_dvd_copies.html

    When you've made the .cdr image load it and then run the game. Doesn't work with all games, though.
     

Share This Page