Any network engineers using retina MacBook as primary machine?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by seamor0512, Nov 22, 2015.

1. seamor0512 macrumors member

I am really on the fence on getting a retina MacBook. I am a Cisco network engineer that uses programs such as zoc, ms visio or lucidchart, ms office, Google docs, VNC , Remote Desktop etc. A lot of my work requires having 4-5 programs open at a time and spread out between the laptop screen and a 2nd 1080p monitor. I am enticed by the thought of lowering my footprint from my 13 pro to the retina MacBook but that core m is so concerning. I travel a good bit so it could be beneficial. Any IT pro's riding with this beauty as their main machine? Any issues with multitasking programs? Fairly good chance I'd also have to run a win 10 vm in parallels some as well.

Probably just going to grab one for a test run during the holiday return period but looking for some input.

2. ctyrider macrumors 6502a

ctyrider

I am a network engineer and use rMB as my one and only machine. At home, I connect it to 1440p display and of course the size makes it perfect for travel.

I don't do anything too computationally intensive, but rMB has no trouble handing tools like Wireshark, MS Office and even Visio in a Win7 VM. I recommend it.

3. seamor0512 thread starter macrumors member

Thanks,

I picked one up just now gonna give it the ole trial run through. So far so good, currently installing my programs on it. Really liking the keyboard and form factor, no slow downs as of yet.

4. Mattymoocow macrumors member

Mattymoocow

I too am a Cisco Network engineer, running rMB as my primary machine. It works a treat! some window based things, i just run in a Windows 7 or Windows 10 VM via Parallels. I was hanging out for Hub+ for better connectivity options, but as they failed I just went and got the Apple USB-C AV adapter. My USB-Serial adapter sometimes plays up in OS X, but always works flawlessly in Windows VMs.