Any new hdd's announced to fit the air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by applecultvictim, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. applecultvictim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #1
    Maybe from the usual suspects like toshi? I heard they have a 250gb 1.8" out but it must be too thick for the air. :(
     
  2. ZunePod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #2
    They did, but its 2-platter, meaning too big for the Air:

    Engadget
     
  3. applecultvictim thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #3
    Yeah that's what I thought. So nothing larger than 120gb at the mo? With the difficulty in adding more space to platters we ll probably see much larger ssds than hdds for the air.
     
  4. PaperMacWriter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #4
  5. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    Noticeable that with the rev.B, the SSD option (just) overtook the HDD one in terms of capacity. Which is the way forward really and why I think we'll see a 256GB SSD before any significant increase in HDD (say 160GB).
     
  6. applecultvictim thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #6
    For sure it's getting very hard to squeeze data in the platters and if you can't add thickness..forget it.
     
  7. PaperMacWriter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #7
    I'm sure there is a way to get 250GB in a single platter 1.8" HDD... just that by the time we figure this out, everyone will use SSDs!:p Samsung came out/is comming out with a 256GB SSD 1.8". I expect that to be in the Air rev. C.
    SG :apple:
     
  8. PaperMacWriter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #8
    I'm sure there is a way to get 250GB in a single platter 1.8" HDD... just that by the time we figure this out, everyone will use SSDs!:p Samsung came out/is comming out with a 256GB SSD 1.8". I expect that to be in the Air rev. C.
    SG :apple:
     
  9. iMacmatician macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #9
    So if the MacBook Air will be updated at about midyear, will the HDD size stay at 120 GB? If so, do you think the 128 GB SSD will replace the HDD (HDD as BTO -$xxx), or not?
     
  10. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    Not necessarily, they seem to have been able to go from 40GB laptop drives to 500GB while still being 2.5" in size. They'll be able to go larger, its just going to take a little.
     
  11. applecultvictim thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #11
    I think they will have a slightly larger hdd say 160gb or 128 ssd (with price diff. of course) in the low end model and 256 or other high ssd for high end model.
     
  12. PaperMacWriter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #12
    Certainly a possability. That would also spread out the market to those who want an ultra-portable but don't want to spend as much. Maybe a line-up like this for rev. C:

    Category___Model A._______Model B_________BTO option______
    HD............128GB SSD.......256GB SSD...........120GB HDD, -$300 on A, -$500 on B
    .................................................................256GB on A, +$300. 128GB on B, -$300
    RAM..........4GB onboard.....4GB onboard..........none
    Processor...1.86GHz...........2.13GHz................2.13GHz on model A, +$200
    Extras........GT*................GT*, 512MB VRAM....none
    Price..........$1,799............$2,499

    *GT=Glass Trackpad
    ________________________________________________________________
    with this, there is always an extra $200 premium for the boost in VRAM, which may or may not be worth it to some. These prices are all random, but the stats are likely, as all these parts would fit in the Air.
    SG :apple:
     
  13. applecultvictim thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #13
    It's too early for them to go 4gb on the air, they will be cutting into mbp profits, hence the current soldered ram that cannot be upgraded at all. The earliest I see them going to 4gb (3 maybe...) would be with arrandale.
     
  14. PaperMacWriter macrumors 6502

    PaperMacWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #14
    Maybe as a BTO option? I sincerely hope that Apple will give us more RAM.
    SG :apple:
     
  15. iMacmatician macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #15
    I've never thought much about a VRAM boost BTO option. I guess I can see that coming, either the next revision or the one after that.

    Doubt it, the MacBook goes up to 4 GB already, and I would think it's more of a MacBook Pro competitor than the MacBook Air.
     
  16. applecultvictim thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #16
    It goes up to but it is not standard, he was talking about offering standard 4gb for the air in a few months time pre arrandale, not gonna happen. Also the macbook is less than a macbook pro competitor than the air because of the screen quality.
     
  17. iMacmatician macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #17
    Maybe for the high-end model.

    Also the MacBook Air is less a MacBook Pro competitor than the MacBook because of the CPU, RAM, HDD, GPU, optical drive, and ports.
     
  18. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #18
    "Too early" for 4GB?! Nope if anything, it's almost too late. The MBA needs to step up and fast, it's still dogged by the negative perceptions surrounding the performance of the rev.A.

    With Snow Leopard around the corner, 4GB is a must, in fact it's one of the two essential upgrades that MUST be in rev.C, along with the 256GB SSD (you can keep your gimmicky glass trackpads). Anything less and you may as well write the MBA's obituary right there and then, from a commercial perspective. There'll also be a tablet/netbook thingie around within 12 months, further chipping into the ultraportable MBA market.

    It's also not beyond the realms of possibility that the MBA may not even make it to the Arrandale era, and be end-of-lifed after the next refresh - it's not a volume seller by any means, and you only have to look how it's presented in Apple Stores (not so much 'expensive, svelte, desirable flagship', more 'outdated, quirky, ginger-haired stepchild so let's shove a battered one in the corner for the sake of it') to realise its future is far from secure.
     
  19. iann1982 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    #19
    I'd love 4gb, but why will Snow Leopard make it a must? If anything Snow Leopard should have a smaller footprint and need less system memory as it's a streamlined optimised version of Leopard.

    I had 3gb in my macbook before this and I do miss it. But I miss it mainly because I used to run XP virtualised, I still can, but it's really pushing it. I'm not convinced you need more than 2gb for everyday tasks.

    I don't think we'll see a lot at the next refresh, maybe a 4gb option, cpu bump, and maybe a small hd bump - all small changes.
     
  20. iMacmatician macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #20
    System requirements for Snow Leopard developer builds aren't any less than (release) Leopard's.
     
  21. ZunePod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #21
    They would make more profits.

    Not many people would shell out $2500 for something that can be beaten with something thats £1000 cheaper.

    Then again, you have the colony of people called "Arseholes"
     
  22. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #22
    For all the talk of SL being a leaner meaner grilli...sorry, OS, it's yet to be seen in the wild to be so. As iMacmatician says, the developer builds are no smaller. I know the blurb says smaller RAM footprint but that'll be just for Apple's iLife apps. The very real-world possibility is that SL may enable a lot of other spiffy pro apps (e.g. CS4, FCP) to utilise more RAM than they do currently. Not all of us use MBAs for email/web you know.

    And it's very unlikely that 4GB will be a BTO option as the chip is soldered on, not something they'll be able to accommodate in the BTO facility. The CPU bump is all but confirmed given the release of the SL9600, as is the new Samsung 256GB SSD.
     

Share This Page