Any Other Educators Out There?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by WoodrowCall, Mar 4, 2011.

1. WoodrowCall macrumors 6502

WoodrowCall

I'm very excited about getting my iPad 2 next week, and I'm just wondering are there are any other educators (I teach high school English) who are looking at getting the iPad 2 for, at least partly, educational purposes? I have a flat screen in my classroom and am really looking forward to hooking it up, also carrying it around as a gradebook is going to be wonderful. Anyone else out there an educator who's also excited? :D

2. Shimmanen macrumors newbie

I have an original iPad and haven't decided yet if I'm upgrading. I am also a college professor.

I love the iPad in the classroom. I use it for many professional-related activities, including lecture preparation, lecture notes, grading, record keeping, tutoring. I even did an entire textbook review on it last year shortly after I got it. My hope is that the educational uses for the device continue to expand and more textbook companies adopt it. I would dearly love it if my big fat heavy neuroscience textbook could be on the iPad, for example. :)

3. WoodrowCall thread starter macrumors 6502

WoodrowCall

Yeah, my British literature textbook is giant, and literally every work in it can be found in online databases. I've also seen some really interesting apps for literature, like narrated/animated Shakspeare plays. I was looking forward to it even before I saw the HDMI Mirror capability, which is going to be great for modeling paper edits, etc.

4. iPad 2nd Gen macrumors regular

Without looking it up, which of these is correct?

How much farther?

How much further?

And tell me why.

5. Crosbie macrumors 6502a

Crosbie