Any PCI-E SATA cards that are natively supported by OS X?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pastrychef, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #1
  2. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    This is an equivalent eSATA card, and it's bootable as well. Not exactly inexpensive though. It's a Highpoint PCIe x4 lane Fake RAID card, but it has EFI firmware, and works on both 32 & 64 bit versions (is good for '06 - '09 MP's).

    Hope this helps. :)
     
  3. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #3
    EDIT - just read it works with 10.4 and up and doesn't have problems with 64-bit SL. At least as advertised.
     
  4. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    That's all we can go by at this time, as I don't recall any member posting they've used it.

    I've not had great luck with Highpoint's Fake RAID controllers in the past, but it's been awhile. I would presume it would be fine for single disk use. Not so sure on the software RAID functionality though.

    We need a test subject. ;) :p
     
  5. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    Wow. Huge difference in price...

    Thanks for the info!
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    What do you mean?

    You act like an 11.5x increase is something that needs to be considered. :eek: :D :p
     
  7. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #7
    Comes with buying a MacPro, at least this year :D Or at least a MDP->DVI adapter. :p
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    At least the MDP->DVI adapter is cheaper. By a bit more than half actually. :D

    Whoa... Now the MDP->DVI adapter looks like a bargain... What has the world come to in Mac Land? :eek: :p
     
  9. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    I wonder if using one of those PCI-E to ExpressCard adaptors with the ExpressCard that I linked to in first post of this thread would work. I can populate all the open PCI-E slots with them and it would still be cheaper than the Highpoint card...
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    I've never tried it, but technically speaking, it should be possible. I'd recommend checking the specs carefully first though. :)
     

Share This Page