Any problems with 5GHz n-only mode on Time Capsule?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by danny_w, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #1
    Has anybody here had problems running the TC in 5GHz mode, or is everybody having good success with it? I need to know before I go buy an Airport Express to try and add a b/g network. I tried one time to set my TC into 5GHz mode and it locked up on me; I lost wireless & ethernet, the status light stayed green, but Airport Utility couldn't find it even though I was connected by ethernet directly to the TC. I need to know was this just a fluke or is TC problematic at 5GHz. My TC is currently set back to the default of b/g compatible mode on channel 9 and everything seems to be rock solid. Am I going to make things worse by changing the TC to 5GHz and adding an Airport Express?
     
  2. kbright macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    #2
    Problem with 5GHz n-only mode on Time Capsule also

    I have had similar problems. Unless I am very close to Time Capsule on downstairs in the house where it is, my MacBook Air cannot get nor stay connected with the TC set to 5ghz n-only mode. Sometimes it may connect and only get an internally assigned 169. address. If I shut off wifi on MBA then it may connect for a few seconds and then drop again and the TC becomes invisible. Also Airport Utility cannot find the Time Capsule.

    If I set it to either of the 2.4GHz modes n-only or B/G compat mode it works great with great distance even upstairs in all the rooms. I was thinking it was my MacBook Air until I started seeing others have similar problems with Time Capsule in n-only 5GHz mode. It is ashame because that failing mode should be the fastest of all modes.

    I hope Apple will solve soon and maybe provide an update to the Time Capsule.
     
  3. coopermac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    My TC is on 1st floor and diagonally above where I normally use my MBP. The 2.4Ghz "n" only setting works without a problem but the 5Ghz "n" only continually drops out. Not sure where I read it but it would seem that the strength of th 5Ghz signal is weaker than the 2.4 signal. If I use the MBP in the same room as the TC there is no problem.
     
  4. Future Blues macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #4
    I live in a Japanese apartment (which is small by most people's standards, I imagine) and I had absolutely no problem with 5Ghz 'N' mode with my Time Capsule and MBP back before I bought my Wii.
     
  5. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Only problem I've had with the TC in 5GHz only mode is the range. The my bedroom which is the furthest from the TC, I get a better signal connecting to my Linksys 2.4GHz G network, than the TC 5GHz N network.

    If I move just a little bit close, then speeds increase.

    I'd say that's more of the 5GHz wavelength effecting it than the TC itself.

    -Kevin
     
  6. Zeos macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #6
    Had same problem here. Time Capsule locked up and had to hard reset.
     
  7. rayward macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    I have tried to set up my TC in bridge mode, and it works but not if I try to make it n-only. I'm going to reset to factory settings both the TC and the AEBS it's bridged from, and see if that works.
     

Share This Page