iPad Any professional designers/artists use the iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by TSE, Jan 4, 2014.

1. TSE macrumors 68030

Thinking about going either with a Wacom drawing tablet with Photoshop on the computer, or an iPad for sketching/drawing models. Industrial design student here.

I see there are lots of pressure sensitive pens and such for the iPad... are there professional quality software and such?

Obviously you can draw professional quality drawings with a Wacom tablet and Photoshop... it's just not portable and the whole concept of drawing something that appears on a different screen is tough to get over for me.

If you could recommend a pen, which one would you guys recommend? And applications?

Thank you very much guys!

2. Roykor, Jan 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2014

Roykor macrumors 6502

I am an illustrator, making drawings is what i do for a living. i am verry interested in this to. So far i know there are no good solutions sofar for the ipad. i think we need to look to the Galaxt Note tablets at this moment for the best experiance, but i am not sure if Photoshop is availeble.

I hope that Apple put some real wacom technology into their new (bigger) iPad. I would love to make sketches on it! :D

3. Electa macrumors member

I would recommend the original surface pro. You draw right on the screen, and it's around the same price as an iPad, $600. It has a built in digitizer so I feel like it would be perfect for you.

4. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

osofast240sx

if you're at all serious, Mac + Wacom.

5. TSE thread starter macrumors 68030

I just can't get used to the whole concept of drawing on tablet, but it goes on the screen disconnect. Any tips/alternatives?

6. eric237 macrumors newbie

As an industrial design student as well I agree, but there are some professionals that use the iPad for sketching.

In this video, Leo Chang, head designer of Nike Basketball, uses the Adonit Jot Touch with an iPad.