Any reason to upgrade from mid-2012 MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacLust, Feb 5, 2016.

1. MacLust macrumors newbie

I've been using Macs since about 10 years old -- my first was a Performa 400 hand-me-down. Over the years I've owned just about everything... dozens of desktops, iMacs, Macbooks, even owned a friggen StarMax. My point is, there has always been a good reason to upgrade every couple years, at a minimum.

Now I've been using the same MBP mid-2012 for almost 4 years. As much as I want an excuse to upgrade, every time I look there have been only marginal enhancements. My 15" MBP has 2.3ghz i7, 16GB Ram, and 1TB SSD -- similar on specs to current models, right? I like the internal DVD drive, and I don't really care about the retina display. Amazingly it even has 1173 cycles and has 90% battery health according to the app, so can't use that as an excuse to upgrade.

My question is, am I missing a good reason to upgrade? Have advancements in technology really leveled out? I even chatted with Apple sales and they really had no good reason to buy a new MPB other than "turbo boost." Is there a new generation of MBPs on the horizon, with significant changes? Thanks for any input.

2. duervo macrumors 68020

duervo

You forgot items (and so did the Apple salespeople, but that's no surprise).

- PCIe-based SSD vs the SATA3 in the 2012 model.
    - Improved battery life due to better low level power management in the new processors.

3. xb2003 macrumors 6502

xb2003

Intel processors have focused on efficiency in the last few years, as well as iGPU. There the current CPUs aren't that much faster than the sandy bridge days, they just use far less power.

Everyone is anticipating a brand new MBP this year, featuring Skylake processors, TB3/USB C, improved battery life, and smaller frame. I'm personally about to order the current model as I domt want to wait or have to buy a bunch of adapters for my stuff.

4. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

iMacDragon