Any Recommendations For Nikon D7000 Lenses?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Kerf, Jul 8, 2011.

1. Kerf macrumors newbie

Kerf

Hey, so I bought a Nikon D7000 earlier this year and I have enjoyed it ever since, but I am quickly getting tired of the 18-105mm kit lens, its not a bad lens but I am thinking about picking up a prime lens possibly the (50mm f/1.4; the 50mm f/1.2 is a tad out of my price range). Does anybody have recommendations for any future lens purchases? I have family coming out from Indiana to my home soon, and since I live in Southern California we are doing the whole theme park shuffle thing, so any suggestions regarding an ideal lens for that situation would be greatly appreciated (I was thinking prime lens in order to be able to take photos on the darker rides, but I am sure most of you know better than I). Also take note that I'm not a professional photographer, and I only have a basic understanding of cameras and lenses, so I don't have the money to purchase a ton of expensive lenses and equipment nor the knowledge on how to use it all. Thanks.:)

2. El Cabong macrumors 6502a

(1) You're "tired" of your current lens because...?
    (2) What's your budget?

3. Kerf thread starter macrumors newbie

Kerf

(1) I guess "tired" was a poor choice of words. I am looking for a lens that can shoot fast motion in low light settings (e.g. a dark ride). I've been told that prime lenses are more efficient at doing this. I also wish to shoot video and I was taught that prime lenses are more consistent when it comes to lighting in this situation.

(2) As for my budget I would say $500 is at the top end. I know this isn't much when it comes to lenses but that's what I have right now.

Hope this helps.

4. El Cabong macrumors 6502a